“Bula Fiji”

© Noëlie Pansiot / Fondation Tara Expéditions

7 June 2017

After sailing across the Pacific Ocean for 31 days, the sailors finally docked the schooner. On June 1, at 2pm local time, Tara entered Port of Lautoka, a city located west of Viti Levu in the Fiji archipelago. But this was a short stopover. The Taranauts’ program during their first 24 hours ashore was very busy: buying provisions, filling out customs forms, and preparing the ship for a new scientific mission.

Some Taranauts would gladly have stayed a few more days at sea, but others were looking forward to setting foot on land, hearing birds singing and seeing green vegetation. For Samuel Audrain, Tara’s captain and sailor at heart: “When you’re on board for a long time, you enter another space-time. In the end, you lose track of time spent at sea. One or two more weeks don’t change anything.”

 

Image ElyxElyx, the UN’s digital ambassador, who illustrated the 17 Sustainable Development Goals aboard Tara to participate in World Ocean Day from Fiji © Elyx by Yak

 

For a month, the skyline and the sea had become our daily lives. On June 1 around 6am, land appeared, breaking our routine. When the first islets came into sight on the port side, the deck was already teeming with scientists ready with a plankton net to filter liters of water. At this early hour, nobody had yet realized that this great adventure on the high seas was about to end. Around 10am, Tara entered the Navula Passage, heading toward a quarantine zone before obtaining approval from the health authorities in Lautoka. A little further, a small pod of dolphins escorted the schooner…

 

13_Lamaneurs_credit_Noelie_Pansiot-2220429Docking pilots in the port of Lautoka, Viti Levu Island © Noëlie Pansiot / Tara Expéditions Foundation

 

At 2pm, the head docker moored the schooner while others immediately shouted their greetings: “Bula!” In Fijian, this means “welcome, hello, goodbye” – a word repeated by every new person we meet. Here, in the second largest town in the Republic of Fiji, people greet each other in the street.

Tomorrow, the Taranauts will sail another 25 miles towards Kuta Island to reach their first sampling site. The scientists on board will follow the sampling protocol, marking the beginning of the second year of Tara’s expedition in the Pacific Ocean. For 5 days, the team will study 3 different sites. Then the schooner will sail along the south coast of Viti Levu to reach its capital, Suva. Taranauts will then be able to follow closely the UN Ocean Conference, being held in New York. They will participate in live discussions with United Nations representatives and contribute their precious testimony.

 

10_Tara_baie_Kuata_credit_Noelie_Pansiot-0058Tara moored near the small island of Kuata in Fiji © Samuel Audrain / Tara Expéditions Foundation

 

*Bula Fiji: Welcome to Fiji

 

Noëlie Pansiot

Related articles

« Bula Fiji » | Tara, un voilier pour la planète

« Bula Fiji »

© Noëlie Pansiot / Fondation Tara Expéditions

7 juin 2017

Après 31 jours de navigation à travers l’océan Pacifique, les marins ont finalement frappé les amarres. Le 1er juin, à 14h heure locale, Tara entrait dans le port de Lautoka, une ville située à l’ouest de Viti Levu, dans l’archipel des îles Fidji. Mais cette escale aura été de courte durée. Le programme des premières 24h des Tauranautes a été très dense : avitailler, remplir les formalités, préparer le bateau pour la nouvelle mission scientifique…

 

Si certains Taranautes seraient volontiers restés encore quelques jours en mer d’autres, en revanche, étaient impatients de pouvoir fouler la terre, d’entendre le chant des oiseaux ou de revoir quelques brins d’herbe… Pour Samuel Audrain, Capitaine de Tara et marin dans l’âme : « Lorsqu’on est à bord aussi longtemps, on pénètre dans un autre espace-temps. Finalement, le temps passé en mer ne compte plus, une semaine ou deux de plus, ça ne change rien. »

 

Image ElyxElyx, ambassadeur digital des Nations Unies, qui a illustré les 17 Objectifs de Développement Durable, à bord de Tara pour participer à la Journée Mondiale de l’Océan depuis Fidji © Elyx by Yak

 

Depuis un mois, l’horizon et la mer étaient devenus notre quotidien. C’est le 1er juin, vers 6h du matin que la terre est apparue pour le rompre. Les premiers îlots se sont dressés à bâbord, alors que le pont fourmillait déjà de scientifiques prêts à déployer un filet à plancton et à filtrer des litres d’eau. Mais à une heure si matinale, personne ne réalisait encore que cette grande aventure hauturière touchait à sa fin. Vers 10h, Tara embouquait* la passe de Navula pour se diriger vers un mouillage de quarantaine, avant d’obtenir le feu vert des autorités sanitaires de Lautoka. Un peu plus loin, un petit groupe de dauphins escortait la goélette…

 

13_Lamaneurs_credit_Noelie_Pansiot-2220429Lamaneurs du port de Lautoka, sur l’île de Viti Levu © Noëlie Pansiot / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

A 14h, le lamaneur frappait les amarres à quai. Aussitôt, des dockers nous lançaient les premiers mots de bienvenue : « Bula ! » En Fidjien, cela signifie « bienvenue ; bonjour ; au revoir… » Un mot qui depuis, résonne auprès de chaque nouvelle personne croisée. Ici, dans la seconde ville la plus importante des Fidji, les gens se saluent dans la rue.

 

Demain, les Taranautes reprendront la mer pour parcourir 25 miles de plus en direction du premier site de prélèvement, vers Kuta Island. Les scientifiques présents à bord suivront le protocole d’échantillonnage et marqueront ainsi le coup d’envoi de cette seconde année d’expédition. Pendant 5 jours, l’équipe va étudier 3 sites différents, puis Tara longera la côte sud de Viti Levu pour rejoindre sa capitale, Suva. Les Taranautes pourront ainsi suivre de près la conférence mondiale sur les océans qui se déroulera à New York. Ils participeront à des échanges en direct avec l’ONU pour apporter leur précieux témoignage.

 

10_Tara_baie_Kuata_credit_Noelie_Pansiot-0058Tara devant la petite île de Kuata, aux Fidji © Samuel Audrain / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

*Bula Fiji : bienvenue aux Fidji.

*Embouquer : s’engager dans une passe.

Noëlie Pansiot

Articles associés