Kikaijima, between past and present | Tara, a schooner for the planet

Kikaijima, between past and present

© Nicolas Floc'h / Fondation Tara Expéditions

16 April 2017

Arriving by boat offers a different way of getting to know a place: you have the time to discover it. First the profile, then colors and finally its geology. From far away, the tiny island of Kikai doesn’t reveal all its assets: limestone cliffs, a flat surface, fields of sugar cane, and a climate indicating arrival in the tropics. Anchored off the coast for 2 days, Taranauts had time to observe the island from a distance. 48 hours of waiting before stepping on land, or rather on coral debris. The time required for scientists to perform their sub-aquatic ballet, repeating the same gestures as on each coral reef.

 

At_sea_credit_Nicolas_FlochTara left the main Japanese island heading for Kikaijima  © Nicolas Floc’h / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

In Japanese, Kikaijima means “the island of pleasure”– just right to stir up the curiosity of a team of sailors! Located between the eastern China Sea and the Pacific, between temperate zone and tropical zone, Kikaijima is quite unusual. Each year the coral plateau constituting this small island rises a little more. Beneath the feet of its 7,600 inhabitants, tectonic plates are discreetly moving.

100,000 years ago Kikaijima was a coral reef like any other: a colony of animals building an oasis of biodiversity below the surface. Then, pushed by telluric* forces for millennia, the reef reached the surface and now rises 214 meters above sea level. No wonder this remote island in the Amani archipelago attracts the attention of geologists. The current speed of elevation is impressive: 2 mm per year — one of the fastest in the world, along with the Caribbean island of Barbados, or the Huon Peninsula in Papua New Guinea

Today life in Kikaijima has nothing to do with the frenzy of large Japanese cities. For the islanders living on these 53 square kilometers of limestone, daily concerns are more important than the geological originalities of the island. Landing on Kikai, you immediately feel the peaceful rhythm of life. Some fishing, some agriculture. Only one big supermarket, with a poster announcing Tara’s arrival. Two years ago a new structure was built on the fishing port — the Coral Reef Institute — conceived by Tsuyoshi Watanabe and Atsuko Yamazaki, whom the Taranauts met at a party organized in their honor at the Institute.

 

Comité_accueil_credit_Noelie_Pansiot-2190107Warm welcome committee for Tara’s arrival at Kikaijima island © Noëlie Pansiot / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Tsuyoshi Watanabe, specialist in paleoclimatology and geology, is a lecturer at Hokkaido University. “After traveling around the world, we realized that people here knew nothing about coral. In general, scientists visit a site, collect a few samples, and take them back to their laboratories. So we decided to establish this institute to share our knowledge. Now the children of Kikaijima are familiar with coral and this makes us feel proud.”

We have to delve into the past, look at the geology of the island or to take an interest in its geography to understand its uniqueness. “The coral shelf here has been through different climatic periods”, explains Tsuyoshi. “By studying it, we can go back in time and better understand the past ecosystem of coral, its palaeo-biodiversity…This could give us valuable information on the future of our environment. Kikaijima is situated on a border between past and present. It’s a unique island!”

 

Noëlie Pansiot

 

*telluric: concerning the Earth

Related articles

Kikaijima, entre passé et présent

© Nicolas Floc'h / Fondation Tara Expéditions

16 avril 2017

Arriver par la mer c’est appréhender un lieu autrement, prendre le temps de le découvrir. D’abord son relief, puis ses couleurs et enfin sa géologie. De loin, la petite île de Kikai ne dévoile pas tous ses atouts : des falaises calcaires, une surface plate, des champs de canne à sucre et un climat indiquant l’arrivée en zone tropicale… Pendant deux jours, les Taranautes ont eu le temps de l’observer à distance, au mouillage. 48h d’attente, avant de fouler son sol, ou plutôt ses débris de coraux. Le temps nécessaire aux scientifiques pour réaliser leurs ballets sub-aquatiques, répétant les mêmes gestes sur la scène du récif corallien.

 

At_sea_credit_Nicolas_FlochTara a quitté l’île principale japonaise, et met le cap vers Kikaijima  © Nicolas Floc’h / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

En japonais, Kikaijima signifie « l’île du plaisir ». De quoi attiser la curiosité d’une équipe de marins ! Située entre l’est de la mer de Chine et le Pacifique, entre zone tempérée et zone tropicale, Kikaijima est pour le moins atypique. Chaque année, le plateau corallien qui constitue cette petite île s’élève un peu plus. Car sous les pieds de ses 7600 habitants, la tectonique des plaques opère discrètement.

Il y a 100 000 ans, Kikaijima était un récif corallien comme les autres : une colonie d’animaux bâtissant une oasis de biodiversité sous la surface. Puis, poussé par les forces telluriques* pendant des millénaires, le récif a atteint la surface et culmine à présent à 214 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Pas étonnant alors, que cette île isolée de l’archipel d’Amani attire l’attention des géologues. Sa vitesse d’élévation actuelle les impressionne : 2 mm par an. L’une des plus rapides au monde, avec l’île de la Barbade, dans les Caraïbes ou la Péninsule d’Huon, en Papouasie Nouvelle-Guinée.

Aujourd’hui, la vie à Kikaijima n’a rien à voir avec la frénésie des grandes villes nippones. Et pour les insulaires vivant sur ces 53 km2 de calcaire, les préoccupations quotidiennes sont probablement plus importantes que les originalités géologiques de l’île. En débarquant sur Kikai, on en perçoit vite la douceur de vivre. Un peu de pêche, un peu d’agriculture… Un seul grand supermarché, où était épinglée une affiche annonçant la venue de Tara. Et depuis seulement deux ans, un nouveau bâtiment domine le port de pêche : The Coral Reef Institute. Un lieu imaginé par Tsuyoshi Watanabe et Atsuko Yamazaki, que les Taranautes ont rencontrés sous le joli ficus de l’Institut, lors d’une soirée organisée en leur l’honneur.

 

Comité_accueil_credit_Noelie_Pansiot-2190107Chaleureux comité d’accueil à l’arrivée de Tara devant l’île de Kikaijima © Noëlie Pansiot / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Tsuyoshi Watanabe est maître de conférence à l’Université d’Hokkaido et spécialiste en paléoclimat et géologie : « Après avoir voyagé autour du monde, nous avons réalisé que les gens d’ici ne savaient rien au sujet du corail. En général, les scientifiques visitent un lieu, collectent quelques échantillons, les rapportent dans leurs laboratoires. Nous avons donc décidé d’établir cet Institut afin de partager nos connaissances. A présent, les enfants de l’île connaissent le corail et ça nous rend fier. »

Il faut donc fouiller dans le passé, se pencher sur la géologie de l’île ou s’intéresser à sa géographie pour en comprendre toute sa singularité. « Ce plateau corallien a connu différentes périodes climatiques… », précise Tsuyoshi. « En l’étudiant, nous pouvons remonter dans le temps, pour mieux comprendre l’écosystème corallien passé, sa paléo biodiversité… Cela pourrait nous donner de précieuses informations sur le futur de notre environnement. Kikaijima se situe à une frontière entre passé et présent. C’est une île unique ! »

 

Noëlie Pansiot

 

Tellurique* : qui concerne la Terre.

 

Articles associés