TARA ARRIVES IN FUKUOKA: A FIRST FOR THE RESEARCH SCHOONER AND FOR THE JAPANESE PUBLIC

© Yoshirou Hirano / binmei.jp

20 February 2017

Press release

After several days of  harsh weather conditions, the French research schooner Tara docked in the port of Fukuoka on Sunday, February 19, at 5 pm local time. After departing on February 15 from Ogasawara, their last research site, scientists and sailors confronted strong winds and a particularly turbulent sea. The city of Fukuoka, on the southern island of Kyushu, is Tara’s first port of call where the public will be welcomed aboard. 

 

Arrivee a Fukuoka Sarah Fretwell Fondation Tara ExpeditionsArrival in Fukuoka © Sarah Fretwell / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

This arrival, highly symbolic for Tara, marks the end of the first campaign of the TARA PACIFIC expedition. For the past 8 months, traversing the ocean from east to west and voyaging 30,000 kilometers, scientists have been examining coral reefs and their ecosystems to understand their biodiversity (including genetic) and behavior as they confront global environmental disturbances.

“Welcoming Tara in Japan is very moving for me,” says Professor Hiroyuki Ogata of Kyoto University, the first Japanese biologist to board the schooner (in 2010) during TARA OCEANS, the expedition which expanded knowledge of the planktonic world and gave rise to 50 publications, including 8 in the prestigious journals Science and Nature. “Today, the universities of Kyoto, Tokyo, Tsukuba, Kochi and Ruykyu have joined us in this new scientific adventure: the TARA PACIFIC expedition will contribute to the research we are conducting in Japanese waters and Ryukyu”.

 

 

This is the very first time the schooner Tara has come to Japan and will meet the Japanese public.
For Etienne Bourgois, founder in 2003 of the Tara Expeditions project, “Among the 30 countries studied during Tara Pacific, Japan is the place where the schooner will stay for the longest time, 2 months, with 9 stopovers scheduled. It is extremely important for us to share what we are doing with the Japanese public, and especially with young people and children…”

Stopovers in Fukuoka, Onomichi, Kobe, Nagoya, Yokohama and Tokyo will allow the Japanese public to come aboard and visit the boat, meet the sailors, and also discover the 13 years of Tara expeditions through a traveling exhibition, film screenings and conferences. An opportunity to learn more about this still largely unknown realm which covers 70% of our planet: the Ocean.

Related articles

TARA ACCOSTE A FUKUOKA : UNE PREMIERE POUR LA GOELETTE SCIENTIQUE ET POUR LE PUBLIC JAPONAIS

© Yoshirou Hirano / binmei.jp

20 février 2017

Communiqué de presse

C’est après de longues journées de rudes conditions de navigation que la goélette polaire française Tara a pu accoster dans le port de Fukuoka ce dimanche 19 février à 17 heures heure locale. Partis de Ogasawara le 15 février, leur dernier site de recherche, les scientifiques et marins à bord auront dû affronter un vent de face très soutenu, dans une mer particulièrement agitée, avant de rejoindre la ville de leur première escale ouverte au public, sur l’île de Kyushu, au sud de l’archipel.

 

Arrivee a Fukuoka Sarah Fretwell Fondation Tara ExpeditionsArrivée à Fukuoka © Sarah Fretwell / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Cette arrivée, très symbolique pour Tara, marque la fin d’une première campagne océanographique d’Est en Ouest de l’expédition TARA PACIFIC. Pendant ces 8 derniers mois et au cours des 30 000 kilomètres parcourus, les scientifiques ont ausculté les récifs coralliens et leur écosystème pour en comprendre la biodiversité, la richesse – jusqu’à son intimité génétique – et leur comportement face aux perturbations environnementales globales.

« Accueillir Tara au Japon pour moi est très émouvant » raconte le Pr Hiroyuki OGATA, le premier biologiste japonais de l’université de Kyoto à avoir embarqué en 2010 à bord de Tara lors de l’expédition TARA OCEANS, qui avait permis de repousser les frontières de la connaissance du monde planctonique et donné lieu à 50 publications dont 8 dans les revues Science et Nature. « Aujourd’hui, les universités de Kyoto, Tokyo, Tsukuba, Kochi et Ruykyu ont embarqué dans cette nouvelle aventure scientifique et cette expédition devrait contribuer aux recherches que nous menons dans les eaux japonaises et les Ryukyu ».

 

 

C’est la première fois que le voilier atteint les côtes japonaises pour aller à la rencontre du public japonais.
Pour Etienne Bourgois, le fondateur du projet TARA EXPEDITIONS en 2003, « parmi les 30 pays étudiés durant l’expédition Tara Pacific, le Japon est le pays où la goélette reste le plus longtemps, deux mois, avec 9 escales prévues. Il était capital, pour nous, d’aller partager ce que nous faisons avec le public japonais, et en particulier avec le jeune public et les enfants. L’océan et ses enjeux ne concernent-ils pas d’abord les nouvelles générations ? ».

Les escales de Fukuoka, Onomichi, Kobe, Nagoya, Yokohama et Tokyo vont permettre au public japonais de monter à bord et visiter ce bateau construit pour les conditions extrêmes, de rencontrer les marins, mais aussi de mieux découvrir le fil des 13 années d’expéditions passées à travers une exposition itinérante, des projections de documentaires et des conférences. Une occasion de découvrir un peu plus un univers encore très méconnu qui recouvre 70% de notre planète : l’Océan.

Articles associés