Tara at Heron Island

© Vincent Hilaire / Tara Expéditions Fondation

31 August 2017

On Wednesday, August 30 at 7am local time, Tara arrived at Heron Island. This green island surrounded by shades of blue, 2 hours off the Australian east coast, appears to be a paradise on earth. A hundred people live permanently on this islet of barely 16 hectares. Among them, a dozen work at the Heron Island Research Station*. For the Taranauts, Heron Island marks the restart of the study on reef ecosystems, with sampling of corals, fish, sea water and air. The Tara Pacific expedition, has just entered its second year and will continue to collect massive amounts of data.

 

3-photo 1_arrivee Heron_ Francois AuratTara arrives at Heron Island (photographed with a drone). © François Aurat / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Day was just breaking and the team on Tara’s deck was already busy. Simon Rigal, our captain, and Jonathan Lancelot on his quarter watch, were there. François Aurat was preparing his drone, unaware that a few minutes later, he would take amazing footage of a humpback whale and her calf.

The low-angled sun was diffusing a soft orange light. Heron Island was slowly appearing on the horizon, an oasis in the middle of nowhere.

 

1-photo 9_sur la route d'Heron_ Vincent HilaireSunset on the way to Heron Island. © Vincent Hilaire / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Keeping an eye on the schooner’s progression over the last miles, Simon was already thinking about the best anchoring place to allow our scientific divers to be as close as possible to Tara during their underwater work.

That’s when François, who had taken refuge in the wet lab** to operate his drone in the shade, called out: “Look, Vincent, look!”. On the screen, a whale and her calf were basking in the pass between Heron Island and Wistari Reef, slapping every now and then the calm water surface with their caudal fins. A gentle wake-up for this probably recent tandem. Heron Island is known to be a nursery appreciated by these marine mammals, who come here to give birth.

 

6-photo 6_arrivee Heron_ baleines_Francois AuratA humpback whale and her calf in the channel between Heron Island and Wistari Reef. © François Aurat / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

With Tara at anchor and sails lowered, there was no respite on deck. Supervised by Jonathan Lancelot, divemaster, our scientific divers, Christian Voolstra (KAUST), Claudia Pogoreutz (KAUST), Benjamin C.C. Hume (KAUST) and Ryan McMinds (Oregon State University) prepared their diving gear for the first exploration around the reef.

This afternoon, the 4 scientists are in the water to sample biodiversity at 2 different depths, looking for characteristic species.

A little further away, Jonathan Lancelot is coring a Porites. Just like trees record changes in their growth environment, these massive corals record in their skeleton, variations in sea water properties through time. Therefore, they enable us to study and understand how climate changes impact coastal and marine ecosystems.

 

13-photo 44_experiences corail centre de recherche_Vincent HilaireThe first coral samples from this second year of the Tara Pacific expedition. © Vincent Hilaire / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Heron Island exhibits exceptional biodiversity with 900 species of fish and about 72% of the coral species present across the Great Barrier Reef. Unlike half of the Australian barrier reef, strongly affected by the third episode of global coral bleaching that just ended, Heron Island seems to have withstood this situation according to the scientists from the research station. The corals here have remained healthy so far.

 

Vincent Hilaire

 

* University of Queensland

** a sheltered structure on deck for sea water analysis

Tara au mouillage devant Heron Island | Tara, un voilier pour la planète

Tara au mouillage devant Heron Island

© Vincent Hilaire / Tara Expéditions Fondation

31 août 2017

Ce mercredi 30 août à 7h00 locales, Tara est arrivée à Heron Island. Ce confetti vert posé sur un camaïeu de bleus, à deux heures de la côte est de l’Australie, a toutes les allures d’un paradis sur terre. Une centaine de personnes vivent en permanence sur cet îlot d’à peine 16 hectares, dont une dizaine en activité dans le Heron Island Research Station *. Pour les taranautes, Heron signifie aussi le redémarrage de l’étude des écosystèmes coralliens, avec des échantillons de coraux, de poissons, d’eau de mer et d’air. Cette expédition Tara Pacific qui vient d’entrer dans sa deuxième année, est une fantastique machinerie qui permettra de recueillir des quantités de données impressionnantes.

 

3-photo 1_arrivee Heron_ Francois AuratArrivée à Heron Island, Tara vue du ciel. © François Aurat / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Le jour se levait à peine que le pont de Tara s’agitait déjà. Il y avait Simon Rigal, notre capitaine et Jonathan Lancelot, l’homme de quart à cette heure. François Aurat préparait son drone mais ne savait pas encore qu’il allait saisir quelques minutes plus tard ces images extraordinaires d’une baleine à bosse et de son baleineau.

Le soleil diffusait une lumière orangée, rasante. Heron sortait tout doucement de l’horizon, une oasis au milieu de nulle part.

 

1-photo 9_sur la route d'Heron_ Vincent HilaireCoucher de soleil sur la route d’Heron Island. © Vincent Hilaire / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Attentif à la progression de la goélette dans ces derniers miles, Simon pensait déjà à son mouillage pour permettre à nos biologistes-plongeurs d’être au plus près de Tara pendant leurs travaux sous-marins.

C’est alors que François, réfugié dans le wet lab ** pour piloter son drone à l’ombre, m’appelait : « Regarde Vincent, regarde ! ». Dans l’écran de retour soutenu par une sangle autour du cou de François, une baleine et son baleineau se prélassaient dans la passe entre Heron et le récif Wistari, fouettant de temps en temps l’eau calme de leurs nageoires caudales. Un réveil tout en douceur pour ce tandem sûrement récent. Heron est connue pour être une nurserie appréciée par ces mammifères marins qui viennent ici mettre bas.

 

6-photo 6_arrivee Heron_ baleines_Francois AuratUne baleine à bosses et son baleineau dans la passe entre Heron et le récif Wistari. © François Aurat / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Tara au mouillage, les voiles affalées, pas de répit sur le pont. Emmenés par le chef de plongée Jonathan Lancelot, nos biologistes-plongeurs, Christian Voolstra (KAUST), Claudia Pogoreutz (KAUST), Benjamin C. C. Hume (KAUST) et Ryan McMinds (Oregon State University) préparaient leurs équipements pour des premiers repérages autour du récif.

Cet après-midi, les quatre scientifiques sont à l’eau pour réaliser des échantillonnages de biodiversité à deux profondeurs différentes, les pêcheurs de poissons chassent les espèces caractéristiques.

De son côté, un peu plus loin autour du récif, Jonathan Lancelot réalise le carottage d’un porites. Ces coraux tout en épaisseur permettent, comme les arbres, de remonter le temps et donc de comprendre les évolutions climatiques sous la surface de l’eau, dans un écosystème donné.

 

13-photo 44_experiences corail centre de recherche_Vincent HilaireLes premiers échantillons de corail de cette deuxième année d’expédition. © Vincent Hilaire / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Heron Island est un spot de biodiversité exceptionnel avec 900 espèces de poissons et près de 72% des espèces de coraux présentes dans toute la Grande Barrière. Alors que le troisième épisode de blanchissement mondial vient de s’achever mettant à mal la moitié de la barrière australienne, Heron semble, selon les chercheurs du centre, résister à cette situation puisque le corail est ici, pour l’instant, en bonne santé.

 

Vincent Hilaire

 

*Centre de recherche sur le corail de l’université du Queensland

** Laboratoire humide