Stopover in Vlore (Albania) | Tara, a schooner for the planet

Stopover in Vlore (Albania)

© Y. Chavance/Tara Expéditions.

From July 15 to 19

FOR THE FIRST TIME TARA WILL BE IN ALBANIA for a stopover in Vlore from July 15th to 19th

Tara will make a stopover in one of the country’s oldest port city, located on the Adriatic Sea, 100 kilometres south of Tirana. Although Tara has been crossing the seven seas for a long time now, the schooner had never made landfall in Albania before. 

This stopover, organized in close cooperation with the French embassy in Tirana, will give the opportunity to keep on raising awareness and informing the public about the environmental issues that have been feeding Tara’s commitment for 10 years, especially during the Tara Méditerranée expedition. These four days will host many different activities with various conferences, an exhibition, boat visits and film screenings.

The exhibition “Our Planet Ocean” will be held from July 16th to July 18th in Vlore’s European information centre. It will give the public the possibility to understand that the Ocean is the cradle of life on Earth and covers three quarters of our blue Planet. 

On July 16th, after visiting Sazan island, the Albanese local authorities will come aboard to sign the convention between the French Coastal Conservatoire and the newly created Albanese Coastal Zone Management Agency. This island is currently under the rule of the Albanese military forces and its access is strictly regulated. Signing a convention between France and Albania represents a crucial step that might lead to change the island’s status and turn it into a Marine Protected Area.  

On July 17th, scientists from Tirana, the country’s capital, as well as from the University in Vlore will meet Tara Méditerranée’s scientific team. A seminar will take place in the University. Albanese and French scientists, Sajmir Beqiraj and François Galgani, will present the general situation about the Mediterranean’s health condition as well as the potential solutions for its protection. The students and scientists will then come aboard Tara for lunchtime and visit the schooner.

Last but not least, on July 18th, our program will be consecrated to this expedition’s educational perspective. The schooner will welcome aboard children from three orphanages in the region who will, after the boat visit, discover the exhibition “Our Planet Ocean.”

Escale à Vlora (Albanie)

© Y. Chavance/Tara Expéditions.

Du 15 au 19 juillet

UNE PREMIÈRE POUR TARA EN ALBANIE, en escale à Vlora du 15 au 19 juillet

Tara fera escale dans cette ville portuaire de la mer Adriatique, l’une des plus anciennes du pays, située à 100 kilomètres au sud de Tirana. Même si Tara a beaucoup sillonné la Méditerranée, c’est la première fois que la goélette se rend en Albanie.

Cette escale, préparée en collaboration étroite avec l’ambassade de France à Tirana, sera l’occasion de continuer à sensibiliser et informer le public autour des thématiques environnementales qui nourrissent l’engagement de Tara depuis 10 ans et en particulier durant cette expédition Tara Méditerranée.

Au programme de ces quatre jours, sont prévus, conférences, exposition, visites du bateau ou encore projections de film sont au rendez-vous. 

L’exposition « Notre planète océan » sera visible du 16 au 18 juillet au centre d’information européen de Vlora. Cette exposition est l’occasion de comprendre que l’océan est le berceau de la vie et couvre les trois quarts de notre planète bleue.

Le 16 juillet, Après une visite de l’ile albanaise de Sazan les autorités viendront à bord de Tara pour signer la convention entre le conservatoire du littoral français et la toute nouvelle agence nationale du littoral Albanaise. Cette ile est actuellement sous l’administration de l’armée albanaise et son accès est strictement règlementé. La convention signée entre la France et l’Albanie est une étape indispensable pour modifier le statut de l’ile et en faire une Aire Marine Protégée.

Le 17 juillet des scientifiques de Tirana la capitale et de l’université de Vlora viendront rencontrer à bord les scientifiques de Tara  Méditerranée. Un séminaire aura lieu le matin à l’université. Les scientfiques albanais et français, Sajmir Beqiraj et François Galgani, feront un état des lieux de la Méditerranée et des perspectives de protection de cette espace commun. Les étudiants et scientifiques viendront ensuite déjeuner à bord de Tara et visiter le bateau.

Et enfin le 18 juillet sera consacré à la portée pédagogique de l’expédition. La goélette fera monter à son bord des enfants de trois orphelinats de la région puis à la suite de cette visite ils découvriront l’exposition « Notre planète océan ».