Exhibition The secret world of plankton at the Tara Base | Tara, a schooner for the planet

Exhibition The secret world of plankton at the Tara Base

© Le monde secret du plancton par les Arts Décoratifs

From June 2 to 26, 2014

The School of Decorative Arts meets Tara and her scientific missions June 2 – 26, 2014

Tara Base, 11 boulevard Bourdon, 75004 Paris

Inspired by his experience as an artist-in-residence aboard Tara, Rémi Hamoir, professor at the École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs, proposed that teachers and first-year students work on an art project around the theme “Tara and the secret world of plankton.”

The project’s kick-off was a  conference at the school given by Christian Sardet, co-initiator of the Tara Oceans expedition, and Romain Troublé, secretary general of Tara Expeditions. They presented Tara’s activities over the past 10 years – scientific missions on climate change, especially through the study of plankton, and also various creations made by artists-in-residence aboard Tara during past expeditions.

The students then proceeded with scientific observation of marine microorganisms led by scientists Chris Bowler and Christian Sardet, both of whom participated in Tara’s recent missions. This took place at the Institut de Biologie at the École Normale Supérieure in partnership with l’Ecole des Arts Déco. The students then worked on the subject for a month with the goal of producing an exhibition.

The Secret World of Plankton will be the first exhibition at the brand new Tara Base, to be inaugurated in June by the Mayor of Paris, Anne Hidalgo. The public will discover through the creativity of art students and their visual interpretations, the latest news about Tara – currently researching plastic pollution in the Mediterranean Sea.

Exhibition: The Secret World of Plankton

June 2 – 26, 2014

TARA Base, 11 boulevard Bourdon 75004 Paris

Monday to Saturday, 10 am to 6 pm

Free admission

Tara Base is the new meeting place for Tara Expeditions in Paris. Located at 11 boulevard Bourdon, overlooking the boat basin called le Port de l’Arsenal à la Bastille (4th arrondissement), the 400 m2 space will host free exhibits, visits and conferences.

Exposition Le monde secret du plancton à la Base Tara à Paris

© Le monde secret du plancton par les Arts Décoratifs

Du 2 au 26 juin 2014

A la Base Tara, 11 boulevard Bourdon 75004 Paris

Fort de son expérience sur le voilier Tara en tant qu’artiste, Rémi Hamoir, professeur à l’École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs, a proposé aux enseignants et aux étudiants de 1ère année de travailler sur un projet d’expression plastique autour de la thématique : « Tara et le monde secret du plancton ».

Le projet s’est élaboré autour d’une conférence donnée à l’École par Christian Sardet, co-initiateur de l’expédition Tara Oceans et Romain Troublé, secrétaire général de Tara Expéditions, sur les activités de Tara depuis 10 ans : ses missions scientifiques sur le changement climatique, notamment à travers l’étude du plancton, ainsi que les différentes créations artistiques réalisées autour de ses expéditions maritimes.

Le projet s’est ensuite appuyé sur une observation scientifique des micro-organismes marins conduite par les scientifiques Chris Bowler et Christian Sardet, tous deux ayant participé aux dernières missions de Tara. Cette expérience s’est tenue à l’Institut de Biologie à l’École Normale Supérieure dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec l’École. Les étudiants ont ensuite travaillé sur le sujet pendant un mois avec l’objectif de produire une exposition.

Etudiants: Louise Collet, Louise Vendel, Mathilde Cordelle, Clara Kernreuter, Cindy Attoungbre, Raphael Serres, Daniela Calcagno, Marie-Marie Dutour, Emmanuelle Blanc, Raphaelle Martinez, Eloise Petel, Hélène Hugues, Gabrielle Kourdadz, Margaux Saura, Lorène Gaydon.

Le monde secret du plancton sera la première exposition de la Base Tara qui sera inaugurée par la Maire de Paris Anne Hidalgo au mois de juin. Le public découvrira, à travers la créativité des étudiants et leurs interprétations plastiques, l’actualité des missions du bateau Tara, qui prospecte en ce moment sur la pollution plastique en mer Méditerranée.

Le monde secret du plancton à la Base Tara

 

Informations pratiques :

Exposition Le monde secret du plancton

Du 2 au 26 juin 2014

Base TARA, 11, boulevard Bourdon 75004 Paris

Du lundi au samedi de 10h à 18h.

Entrée libre.

 

La Base Tara est le nouvel espace de Tara Expéditions. D’une surface de 400m2, il accueillera librement expositions, visites et conférences sur le Port de l’Arsenal à la Bastille, 11 boulevard Bourdon, dans le 4e arrondissement de Paris.