Rendez-vous with the Ocean at the COP22 | Tara, a schooner for the planet

Rendez-vous with the Ocean at the COP22

© Fondation Tara Expéditions

7-18 november 2016

After the success of the COP21 in Paris, another victory celebration will take place at the COP22 in Marrakech: the implementation of the Paris Agreement in record time – less than a year after its signature by the UN member countries. For Tara Expeditions Foundation this is very good news – that climate issues are permanently on the agenda of political leaders and today it is no longer possible to deny the need for urgent action to limit climate change and its impacts.

This is why the Tara Expeditions Foundation will be present in Marrakech to give the Ocean a voice, and to mobilize decision-makers and the general public through several events.

logo-cop22

- For the ocean, what progress and challenges?

We may rejoice that the Ocean has been taken into account in the Paris Agreement, but a great deal of technical work is necessary to turn this recognition into concrete actions and agreements in each country. For the COP22, we expect a formal decision from the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) calling on countries to include “marine” elements in the national contributions (INDCs) which were recorded in Paris.

Alongside the more technical work with negotiators and experts, it will be essential in Marrakech (as it was at the COP21) to mobilize the general public so that the Ocean will be recognized as a vital ecosystem for the climate, impacted by the consequences of climate change.

 

- Events and campaigns of the Tara Expeditions Foundation

I - With the Ocean and Climate Platform, we will work to bring the Ocean’s voice to the general public, youth, businesses and civil society.
Forum Ocean and Climate / green zone (open to public) November 11

II - The initiative Because the Ocean was declared at the COP21. We are now launching a second statement with the signature of new states, and a specific medium-term goal: to create the technical conditions necessary so that several countries will take into account the Ocean  in the revision of planned national contributions in 2018.
Because the Ocean / France Pavilion, November 14 at 18:30

III - The Ocean Action Day: Organized by UNESCO / IOC, FAO (UN Food and Agriculture Organization), the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation and the Ocean and Climate Platform. A whole day dedicated to the Ocean as part of the Agenda for Action with the presentation of concrete projects by the FAO, IOC and other organizations.
Ocean Action Day – Morocco Pavilion, November 12 from 10h to 16h

IV - Mediterranean Session – Organized by France and Morocco and supported by Minister Ségolène Royal who launched a “Partnership for the Mediterranean” during the conference “Our Ocean” in Washington in September 2016
Ocean and Mediterranean Session – Morocco Pavilion on  November 12, 18h

V - Coral Reef Session – In the context of the Tara Pacific expedition, we are participating in a session focusing on the impacts of climate change on coral reefs, co-hosted by Australia, the ICRI (International Coral Reef Initiative) and other participants.
Side Event: Coral reefs / place and date to be confirmed

 

barre-orange-2

Related articles:

- COP22, what scenario for oceans after the Paris Agreement?
- “Our Ocean”, important allies
- The Tara Pacific expedition 2016-2018

COP22 : Les rendez-vous "Océan" | Tara, un voilier pour la planète

COP22 : Les rendez-vous « Océan »

© Fondation Tara Expéditions

8-17 novembre 2016

Après le succès de la COP21 à Paris, une autre victoire sera à célébrer à la COP22 de Marrakech : l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord de Paris en un temps record, moins d’un an après sa signature par les pays membres de l’ONU. Pour la Fondation Tara Expéditions, c’est une très bonne nouvelle qui prouve que la prise en compte des enjeux climatiques est définitivement installée auprès des dirigeants politiques, et qu’aujourd’hui il n’est plus possible de nier la nécessité d’une action urgente pour limiter le changement climatique et ses impacts.

C’est pourquoi la Fondation Tara Expéditions sera présente à Marrakech pour faire entendre la voix des océans et mobiliser les décideurs et le grand public, à travers plusieurs événements.

logo-cop22

- Pour l’océan, quelles avancées et quels défis ?

Même si nous nous réjouissons de la prise en compte de l’Océan dans l’Accord de Paris, il reste un travail technique considérable pour faire « entrer » l’océan dans les actions et compromis concrets de chaque pays. Pour la COP22, nous attendons une décision officielle au niveau de la Convention Cadre des Nation unies pour le Changement Climatique (CNUCC) appelant les pays a inclure des éléments « marins » dans les contributions nationales (INDCs) qui ont été actées à Paris.

Parallèlement au travail plus technique à faire auprès des négociateurs et des experts, il sera indispensable à Marrakech de mobiliser le grand public pour que – comme à la COP21 – l’océan soit reconnu comme un écosystème essentiel pour le climat, impacté par les conséquences du changement climatique.

 

- Evénements et mobilisations de la Fondation Tara Expéditions

I - Avec la Plateforme Ocean et Climat, nous serons mobilisés pour porter la voix de l’océan auprès du grand public, jeunesse, entreprises et acteurs de la société civile.
Forum Océan et Climat / zone verte (ouverte au public) le 11 novembre

II - Après l’initiative Because the Ocean, déclaration lancée à la COP21, nous lançons une deuxième déclaration avec l’adhésion de nouveaux Etats et un objectif précis à moyen terme : créer les conditions techniques pour que l’océan soit pris en compte par plusieurs pays lors de la révision des contributions nationales prévues en 2018.
Because the Ocean / Pavillon France, le 14 novembre à 18:30

III - L’Ocean Action Day : Organisé par l’UNESCO/COI, la FAO (Organisation des Nations unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture), la Fondation du Prince Albert II de Monaco et la Plateforme Ocean et Climat. Une journée entière consacrée à l’océan dans le cadre de l’Agenda de l’action, avec la présentation de projets concrets portés par la FAO, la COI, entre autres acteurs économiques et de la société civile.
Ocean Action Day – Pavillon Maroc, le 12 novembre de 10h à 16h

IV - Session Méditerranée – Organisée par la France et le Maroc et portée par la Ministre Ségolène Royal qui a lancé un Partenariat pour la Méditerranée en marge de la conférence « Our Ocean » à Washington en septembre 2016.
Session Ocean et Méditerranée – Pavillon Maroc, le 12 novembre a 18h

V - Session Récifs Coralliens – Dans le cadre de l’expédition Tara Pacific, nous participons à une session consacrée aux impacts du changement climatique sur les récifs coralliens, co-organisée par l‘Australie, l’ICRI (International Coral Reefs Initiative), entre autres participants.
Side Event Coral reefs Pavillon France, le 14 novembre à 18h.

 

 

barre-orange-2

Articles associés :

- COP22, quel scénario pour l’Océan après l’accord de Paris ?
- « Our Ocean », des alliés de poids
- L’expédition Tara Pacific 2016-2018