agnès b.

© agnès b.

A key goal of the Tara Pacific expedition (2016 – 2018) is raising public awareness about the Ocean. To achieve this objective, over a period of 2 months the schooner will be making stopovers in 9 different cities throughout Japan, organizing meetings, exhibitions, conferences, and visits aboard. This rich program would not have seen the light without a solid collaboration between Tara and agnès b., founding sponsor of the project.

 

Vendeuse_agnes_b_Daimaru_credit_NPansiot-2160122
Sales person from the agnès b./Tara Pacific “corner shop” in the Kobe Daimaru store © Noelie Pansiot / Tara Expéditions Foundations

 

Present in the archipelago for more than 31 years, agnès b. Japan lent a helping hand to the Tara team in organizing and publicizing the schooner’s arrival
To highlight this precious collaboration, agnès b./Tara installed pop-up stores (temporary stands in supermarkets) in Kobe, Nagoya and Tokyo, featuring the new Tara collection.

A long history exists between agnès b. and Japan: In 1984, agnès b. and Jean-René de Fleurieu created agnès b. sunrise with Riku Suzuki to launch the brand in Japan. The success was extraordinary: rapidly more than 50 shops opened all over the country.

In 2005, agnès b. took control of the company and decided to adapt very closely to market demands by creating models in a more formal style, especially designed for Japanese morphology.

 

P2160125Items from the agnès b. /Tara Pacific collection at the Daimaru store in Kobe © Noëlie Pansiot / Tara Expéditions Foundation

10 years later, agnès b. opened a shop called “Rue du Jour” in the heart of Ginza, the popular tourist district of Tokyo: 350 square meters with an open staircase functioning like a playground for artists where various household accessories are displayed.

During Tara’s stopovers in Fukuoka, Onomichi, Kobe, Nagoya, Yokohama, Tokyo, Shimoda, Kochi and Okinawa, tours of the schooner and numerous events sponsored by agnès b. will be open to the public. A large number of school visits are also planned to raise the awareness of young people about the Ocean.

agnès b.

agnès b. - Tara, un voilier pour la planète

agnès b.

© agnès b.

Etape-clé de l’expédition Tara Pacific 2016-2018 en termes de sensibilisation grand public, la goélette sillonne actuellement le Japon pour deux mois de rencontres locales dans pas moins de neuf villes différentes. Expositions, conférences, visites à bord… un riche programme qui n’aurait pu voir le jour sans la solide collaboration nouée entre Tara et agnès b., mécène fondateur du projet, et le formidable soutien des équipes agnès b. Japon.

 

Vendeuse_agnes_b_Daimaru_credit_NPansiot-2160122
Vendeuse du corner shop agnes b. / Tara Pacific dans le magasin Daimaru de Kobe © Noëlie Pansiot / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Grâce à sa présence dans l’archipel depuis plus de 31 ans, les équipes agnès b. Japon ont prêté main forte aux équipes Tara pour organiser et communiquer au mieux sur la venue de la goélette dans l’archipel japonais.

Pour mettre en lumière cette précieuse collaboration, des pop-up stores (stands éphémères installés dans les grandes surfaces) agnès b. / Tara ont été implantés à Kobé, Nagoya et Tokyo pour mettre en avant la nouvelle collection Tara désignée par la styliste.

Entre agnès b. et le Japon, c’est une longue histoire puisque c’est en 1984 qu’agnès b. et Jean-René de Fleurieu créent agnès b. sunrise avec Riku Suzuki pour lancer la marque au Japon. Le succès est extraordinaire : très vite plus de cinquante boutiques ouvrent partout dans le pays.

 

P2160125Articles de la collection agnès b. / Tara Pacific dans le magasin Daimaru à Kobe © Noëlie Pansiot / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

En 2005, agnès b. reprend toutes ses parts et décide de s’adapter très précisément aux besoins du marché en développant des modèles spécialement adaptés à la morphologie japonaise et à ses besoins plus formels. Dix ans plus tard, elle ouvre une boutique baptisée « rue du jour », en plein cœur du très touristique quartier de Ginza à Tokyo. 350m2 desservis par un escalier brut qui a vocation à être le terrain de jeu des artistes où l’on trouve toutes les lignes de produits de la maison… l’histoire continue !

Pendant les escales de Fukuoka, Onomichi, Kobe, Nagoya, Yokohama, Tokyo, Shimoda, Kochi et Okinawa, la goélette et de nombreuses animations soutenues par agnès b. sont accessibles au public. Un grand nombre de visites d’écoles est également prévu afin d’aider à sensibiliser les plus jeunes.

agnès b.