ICRI - Tara, a schooner for the planet

ICRI

© ICRI

For the entire duration of the Tara Pacific expedition, the Tara Expeditions Foundation will be a partner of the International Coral Reef Initiative (ICRI), co-chaired by France and Madagascar from 2016 to 2018.

The ICRI’s mission is to bring together governments, scientific agencies, non-governmental and international organizations to improve good management practices and pool knowledge on reefs of the world’s oceans.

As Secretariat co-chair, France will share national management and innovative measures for the protection of coral reefs, as well as studies carried out by the French counterpart of the ICRI, the Initiative Française pour les REcifs CORalliens – IFRECOR.

The alliance between the Tara Expeditions Foundation and the ICRI will extend visibility and impact of the research conducted on reefs and implement advocacy and awareness-raising measures for politicians and Pacific island populations. Tara’s stopovers in the Pacific Ocean, and particularly in the French Overseas Territories, will also provide the ICRI with opportunities to promote local exchange, discussion and debate on issues and innovative management projects regarding coral reefs.

http://www.icriforum.org/

ICRI - Tara, un voilier pour la planète

ICRI

© ICRI

Durant toute la durée de l’expédition Tara Pacific, la Fondation Tara Expéditions sera partenaire de l’Initiative Internationale pour les Récifs Coralliens (ICRI) que la France copréside de 2016 à 2018 aux côtés de Madagascar.

L’ICRI a pour mission de rassembler les gouvernements, entités scientifiques, organisations non-gouvernementales et internationales en vue d’améliorer les bonnes pratiques de gestion et mettre en commun les connaissances sur les récifs à travers les océans du monde.

La France, durant ce mandat de secrétariat, pourra partager les pratiques et actions innovantes françaises en matière de protection et études des récifs menées par la déclinaison française de l’ICRI, l’IFRECOR – Initiative Française pour les Récifs Coralliens.

Le rapprochement entre la Fondation Tara Expéditions et l’ICRI permettra donc d’étendre la visibilité et l’impact des recherches et travaux de l’équipe scientifique et mettre en oeuvre des actions de mobilisation et de sensibilisation à destination des élus et des populations insulaires du Pacifique. Les escales de Tara dans le Pacifique, et notamment dans les territoires français d’Outre-Mer, seront aussi pour l’ICRI autant d’opportunités pour favoriser l’échange, la discussion et le débat autour des enjeux et des projets innovants de gestion des récifs coralliens au niveau local.

http://www.icriforum.org/