L’Oréal - Tara, a schooner for the planet

L’Oréal

© L'Oréal

L’Oréal is a partner of the Tara Pacific expedition (2016-2018)

The history of L’Oréal is marked by major discoveries that have advanced the science of cosmetics, with innovations in protection and care of hair and skin.
The Tara Expeditions Foundation encourages the transition of our society to sustainable modes of action, consumption, production and behavior, by supporting good practices.
In this dynamic, the L’Oréal Group has launched in 2013 a program of fundamental transformation of its sourcing, formulation and production methods called “Sharing Beauty With All”, an approach that encourages sustainable transition in the cosmetics sector. Anxious to address consumers’ concerns, L’Oréal has taken the responsibility of focusing on the potential impact of its solar products on the marine environment and particularly on corals by conducting serious scientific studies. L’Oréal formulates products which are increasingly respectful of marine ecosystems and participates in informing the general public on these subjects.

As part of their environmental research, L’Oréal researchers have initiated studies to first measure in the laboratory the potential impact of solar products on cultured corals. These studies are carried out in partnership with the Scientific Center of Monaco whose scientific director Denis Allemand is also co-scientific director of the Tara Pacific expedition.
Research was then carried out in situ around the island of Moorea in French Polynesia on the concentrations of solar filters near coral reefs in tourist and non-tourist areas. Measurements were made using advanced samplers developed with IFREMER. This study was set up in partnership with CRIOBE, whose director, Serge Planes, is the other scientific co-director of the Tara Pacific expedition.

Visit their website

L’Oréal

© L'Oréal

L’Oréal est partenaire solidaire de l’expédition Tara Pacific (2016-2018).

L’histoire de L’Oréal est jalonnée de grandes découvertes qui ont fait progresser la science de la beauté, avec des innovations en matière de protection et de soin des cheveux et de la peau.

La Fondation Tara Expéditions encourage, elle, la société vers une transition durable des modes d’action, de consommation, de production et de comportement, en soutenant les bonnes pratiques.

Dans cette dynamique, le Groupe L’Oréal a lancé en 2013 un programme de transformation de fond de ses modes de sourcing, de formulation et de production appelé «Sharing Beauty With All», une démarche qui induit une transition durable dans le secteur cosmétique. Soucieux de répondre aux préoccupations des consommateurs, L’Oréal considère qu’il est de sa responsabilité de s’intéresser à l’impact potentiel de ses produits solaires sur le milieu marin et tout particulièrement sur les coraux, en menant des études scientifiques solides, en formulant des produits toujours plus respectueux des écosystèmes marins, en participant à l‘information du grand public sur ces sujets.

Dans le cadre de leurs travaux de recherche environnementale,  les chercheurs de L’Oréal ont engagé des études pour, d’abord, mesurer en laboratoire l’impact potentiel des produits solaires sur des coraux de culture. Les études sur les coraux sont réalisées en partenariat avec le Centre Scientifique de Monaco dont le Directeur scientifique, Denis Allemand est aussi co-directeur scientifique de l’expédition Tara Pacific.

Ils ont ensuite entrepris de mesurer in situ autour de l’île de Moorea en Polynésie française les concentrations  en filtres solaires à proximité des récifs coralliens dans des zones touristiques et non touristiques. Ces mesures ont été réalisées à l’aide d’échantillonneurs de pointe développés avec l’IFREMER. Cette étude est mise en place en partenariat avec le CRIOBE, dont le Directeur, Serge Planes, est l’autre co-directeur scientifique de l’expédition Tara Pacific.

Accédez à leur site