Panama Canal: from the Atlantic to the Pacific

©

12 July 2016

In a few days, Tara will cross the Panama Canal, a legendary passage for global navigation. Recent widening works ensure the supremacy of this construction by tripling its transit capacity between Asia and the eastern United States.

For the 4th time in its existence, the schooner will cross the Panama Canal. This will be her 2nd passage under the name Tara, the first one having occurred during the Tara Oceans expedition. This canal connects the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans and facilitates maritime transit to thousands of ships, ranging from private crafts to large commercial vessels, called “Panamax” (term referring to vessels having the largest eligible size in the canal).

 

Tara-fait-son-entrée-dans-lécluse-de-Miraflores-la-première-des-trois-écluses-du-Canal-de-Panama.-C.-BlanchardTara-Expéditions
Tara transiting the Panama Canal, 2011 © C. Blanchard / Tara Expeditions Foundation

 

“Panama, a major rendez-vous”

Tara’s passage has been in preparation for some time. Port formalities are numerous. “Size of the boat, crew on board, engine power, etc. Everything is declared to enable the best possible transit” says Clémentine Moulin, logistics coordinator on land, who prepared Tara’s passage with the Captain. “Going from one ocean to another through one of the busiest canals in the world is a major undertaking! Everything has to be organized with a port agent, an indispensable intermediary.”

The passage is expected to take 24-36 hours at an average speed of 8 knots between each lock and Tara will embark an accompanying pilot. Tara’s maneuvers will be quite easy compared to those of large cargo ships and won’t require towing by electric locomotives. At wharf, the docking pilots, in charge of mooring operations, will oversee Tara and her crew during the passage through each lock.

The cost of the passage depends on the volume of the ship (its tonnage) – a few thousand dollars for Tara and hundreds of thousands of dollars for large cargo ships. A substantial sum to sail up to Lake Gatun and then back down to the Pacific Ocean but it’s ultimately little compared to the detour via Cape Horn.

 
Panama_Canal_Map_EN
© Thomas Römer/OpenStreetMap data CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

A seaway crucial to global trade

This construction has impacted considerably maritime commerce. Since its opening in 1914, ships no longer have had to navigate down to Cape Horn or the Strait of Magellan, located on the southern tip of Chile – a region well known for its rough seas and high winds. Thus, each year, more than 14,000 vessels transit through this route, representing 5% of world trade.

Titanic works were required to develop this 77 km-long strip of land separating the 2 oceans. A series of locks, whose dimensions determine the “Panamax”, enable passage to an artificial lake located 26 m above sea level. This lake is essential for the transit of vessels and also serves as a water reservoir for the proper functioning of the locks during the dry season.

Recently, with the development of maritime commerce, the privileged position of the Panama Canal was challenged by the Suez Canal and a new canal construction project in Nicaragua by 2020. The size of its locks was becoming limiting. In 2011, 37% of the container ships were estimated too large (post-panamax) to take this route and nearly 50% of the vessels transiting the canal were already at the maximum width of the locks.

Expansion works were completed this year on June 26. They now enable the passage of longer and larger ships that can carry up to 12,000 containers – more than double the charge authorized for the original canal. More than 100 years after its opening, the Panama Canal has retained its supremacy on the seaway connecting Asia to the east coast of the United States.

 

Miraflores Lock - 10 Nov 1912
Construction of the Miraflores lock, 1912

 

The Panama Canal in numbers

Extension of the canal:
- 9 years of work (from Sept. 2007 to June 2016)
- 5.2 billion dollars: final cost of enlargement
- 24,000 workers on the construction site
- 49 ships transit daily through the canal
- 510 to 600 million tons of freight per year by 2025
- Dimensions of vessels: 49 m large, 366 m long
- Giant lock basins: 55 m large, 420 m long and more than 18 m deep

First canal:
- 32 years of work (from 1882 to 1914)
- 20,000 workers allegedly died during the construction from malaria and yellow fever
- 39 ships transited daily through the canal
- 203 million tons of transported freight per year
- Panamax dimensions: 32.3 m large, 294.1 m long
- Giant lock basins: 33.53 m large, 304.8 m long and more than 12.55 m deep

Maéva Bardy

Related articles

Canal de Panama : de l’Atlantique au Pacifique

©

12 juillet 2016

Dans quelques jours, Tara traversera le canal de Panama, un passage mythique pour la navigation mondiale. De récents travaux d’élargissement assurent à cette construction sa suprématie, en multipliant par trois ses capacités de transit entre l’Asie et l’Est des Etats Unis.

Pour la quatrième fois de son existence, la goélette franchira le canal de Panama. Ce sera le second passage sous le nom de Tara après l’expédition Tara Océans. Ce canal relie les océans Atlantique et Pacifique et facilite le transit maritime à des milliers de bateaux, allant d’embarcations privées jusqu’aux gros navires de commerce, appelés « Panamax » (terme désignant les bateaux ayant la plus grande taille admissible dans le canal).

 

Tara-fait-son-entrée-dans-lécluse-de-Miraflores-la-première-des-trois-écluses-du-Canal-de-Panama.-C.-BlanchardTara-Expéditions
Tara dans le Canal de Panama, en 2011 © C. Blanchard / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

« Panama, un vrai rendez-vous »

Pour Tara, le passage se prépare depuis un certain temps. Les formalités portuaires sont nombreuses. « Taille du bateau, équipage à bord, puissance des moteurs, tout est déclaré pour permettre le meilleur transit possible » explique Clémentine Moulin, responsable logistique à terre, qui a préparé le passage avec le Capitaine. « Passer d’un océan à un autre, par l’un des canaux les plus fréquentés au monde, c’est un vrai rendez-vous ! Et tout s’organise avec un agent portuaire, intermédiaire indispensable ».

Le passage devrait durer entre 24 et 36h à une vitesse moyenne de 8 nœuds entre chaque écluse, transit pendant lequel Tara embarquera un pilote. Les manœuvres de Tara seront assez aisées contrairement à de gros cargos pour ne pas devoir être remorqué par les locomotives électriques. A quai, les « lamaneurs », chargés des opérations d’amarrage, veilleront à amarrer Tara avec l’équipage lors du passage de chaque écluse.

Le coût du passage dépend du volume du navire (de sa jauge), et se compte en quelques milliers de dollars pour Tara, et en quelques centaines de milliers de dollars pour les gros cargos. Une belle somme pour monter jusqu’au lac Gatún puis redescendre vers le Pacifique, mais finalement peu comparé au détour par le Cap Horn…

 

Panama_Canal_Map_FR
© Thomas Römer/OpenStreetMap data CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

Une voie maritime cruciale pour les échanges mondiaux

Cette construction a eu un impact considérable sur le commerce maritime. Depuis son ouverture en 1914, les navires n’ont plus à faire de détour par le cap Horn ou le détroit de Magellan, situés à la pointe Sud du Chili, une région bien connue pour ses mers capricieuses et ses vents violents. Ainsi, chaque année, plus de 14 000 navires transitent par cette voie, ce qui représente 5% du commerce mondial.

Des travaux titanesques ont été nécessaires pour aménager cette bande de terre de 77 km séparant les deux océans. Une série d’écluses, dont les dimensions déterminent le « Panamax », permettent d’atteindre un lac artificiel situé à 26 mètres au-dessus du niveau des océans. Ce lac est essentiel pour le transit des navires et sert aussi de réservoir d’eau pour le bon fonctionnement des écluses durant la saison sèche.

Récemment, avec l’essor du commerce maritime, la position privilégiée du Canal du Panama s’est trouvée menacée par le canal de Suez et par un projet de construction d’un nouveau canal au Nicaragua d’ici 2020. La taille de ses écluses devenait limitante. En 2011, 37 % des porte-conteneurs étaient estimés trop gros (post-panamax) pour emprunter cette route et près de 50 % des navires transitant par le canal utilisaient déjà la largeur maximale des écluses.

Des travaux d’élargissement se sont achevés le 26 juin dernier. Ils permettent le passage de navires plus longs et plus volumineux pouvant transporter jusqu’à 12 000 conteneurs, soit plus du double de la charge autorisée par le canal d’origine. Plus de 100 ans après son ouverture, le Panama garde ainsi sa suprématie sur la route maritime reliant l’Asie à la côte Est des Etats-Unis.

 

Miraflores Lock - 10 Nov 1912
Construction de l’écluse de Miraflores, 1912

 

Le Canal de Panama en chiffres

Extension du canal :
- 9 ans de travaux (sept 2007 à Juin 2016)
- 5,2 milliards de dollars : coût final de l’élargissement
- 24 000 ouvriers ont travaillé sur le chantier
- 49 navires transitent chaque jour par le canal
- 510 millions à 600 millions de tonnes de marchandises par an en 2025
- Dimensions des bateaux : largeur 49m – longueur 366m
- Bassins géants d’écluse : largeur 55m – longueur 420m – plus de 18m de profondeur

Premier canal :
- 32 ans de travaux (de 1882 à 1914)
- 20 000 ouvriers auraient péri pendant le chantier principalement à cause de la malaria et de la fièvre jaune
- 39 navires transitent chaque jour par le canal
- 203 millions de tonnes de marchandises transportées par an
- Capacité Panamax : largeur 32,3 m – longueur 294,1 m
- Bassins géants d’écluse : largeur 33,53 m – longueur 304,8 m – profondeur minimale 12,55 m

Maéva Bardy

Articles associés