IN THE WAKE OF ROBERT LOUIS STEVENSON | Tara, a schooner for the planet

IN THE WAKE OF ROBERT LOUIS STEVENSON

© Crédits Henry Walter Barnett

2 December 2016

Pacific sunrise: the island appeared as if escaped from a novel, a black silhouette against a red sky. Two days after leaving Niue, in the early morning Tara reached the coast of Upolu, the main island of Samoa. A territory with sharp reliefs where the ghost of literary giant – Robert Louis Stevenson – hovers.

 

This is the same vision of the coast that the author of Treasure Island describes in his travel books. Stevenson went to the Pacific in search of a mild climate for his fragile lungs. In 1890 he settled with his family in Samoa where he spent the last 4 years of his short life. When he built the house in Vailima at the foot of Mount Vaea, he was a world famous author but totally unknown to the inhabitants of the island. Born in Edinburgh in 1850, the novelist had suffered from extremely fragile health since his childhood. This didn’t prevent him from breaking away from the family heritage (engineering lighthouses) to devote himself to writing. After getting a law degree in Scotland, he spent several years traveling, publishing essays and articles about his adventures, which included hiking across the Cevennes with a donkey. His novel Treasure Island (1883) was a huge success, followed by others: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and The Master of Ballantrae.

 

credits_pdeparscau_maison-de-robert-louis-stevenson-a-vailima
House of Robert Louis Stevenson in Vailima © Pierre de Parscau / Tara Expeditions Foundation

 

When he arrived in Samoa, Stevenson quickly took up the defense of the islanders, caught up in colonial conflicts between Americans, Germans and English. This proximity with the local population inspired the islanders to call him “Tusitala”, the storyteller. Though Stevenson did not yet speak the Samoan language, islanders quickly observed the exuberant imagination of the writer: Pacific legends inspired him to embark on new writing projects, some of which remained unfinished. His house seems to have withstood the weather and hurricanes that battered it for many years. Constructed of wood by an Australian architect, it was for a long time the largest building on the island and welcomed illustrious visitors who came to salute the famous writer.

Mustache, emaciated face and feverish glance – in photographs hung on the turquoise paneling of his house (transformed into a museum) Stevenson looks like a character from one of his novels. Margaret Silva, curator of the museum, speaks about the author who wrote several pages of the island’s history. “Robert Louis Stevenson did a lot for our country and got deeply involved in local politics. He helped our founding fathers gain independence and was almost deported because of his commitment. He was the first European to go to the prisons to deliver food, clothing and cigarettes. That’s why Samoans had so much affection for him”.

 

credits_pdeparscau_rls-pose-avec-sa-famille-devant-sa-maison
Robert Louis Stevenson poses with family & neighbors in front of his house © Pierre de Parscau Tara Expédiitons Foundation

 

On December 3, 1894, Stevenson collapsed on the floor of the grand salon, victim of a cerebral hemorrhage. The doctor did not have time to come from Apia. Contrary to the Samoan tradition whereby people are buried close to their homes, the author requested in his last wishes to be laid to rest “under the immense and starry sky” at the top of Mount Vaea. The steep path that still leads there today in itself tells of the Samoans’ attachment to Tusitala. Baptized “the path of loving hearts”, it was cut through the forest with enormous effort by the islanders, in order to transport Stevenson’s coffin. By the light of torches, 200 Samoans climbed the mountain to accompany the writer to his final resting place. No foreigner had ever been so celebrated on the island: the funeral ritual was that of a royal burial and the body placed on a bed of coral surrounded by volcanic stones. “Before he died, Robert Louis Stevenson expressed 2 last wishes,” explains Margaret Silva. “The first was to be laid to rest at the top of the mountain, and the second was to be buried with his boots on his feet. When the Samoans asked him why, he replied that the boots he had worn to explore this island were the ones he wanted to take with him. This meant that he wanted to die with the people of Samoa.”

 

credits_pdeparscau_tombe-robert-louis-stevenson
Tomb of Robert Louis Stevenson at the summit of Mount Vaea © Pierre de Parscau Tara Expediitons Foundation

After a difficult hour climbing the mountain in the blazing sun, the pilgrim arrives at a simple white tomb overlooking the bay of Apia. Engraved on a bronze plaque is the epitaph written in 1884 by Stevenson himself as his last words:

Under the wide and starry sky
Dig the grave and let me lie
Glad did I live and gladly die
And I laid me down with a will
This be the verse you grave for me
Here he lies where he longed to be
Home is the sailor, home from sea
And the hunter home from the hill

Pierre de Parscau

Related articles

DANS LE SILLAGE DE ROBERT LOUIS STEVENSON

© Crédits Henry Walter Barnett

2 décembre 2016

Elles sont apparues comme échappées d’un roman, à la faveur d’un lever de soleil sur le Pacifique, noires sur un ciel rouge. Deux jours après avoir pris la mer depuis Niue, TARA a atteint ce matin-là les côtes de Upolu, la principale île des Samoa. Un territoire aux reliefs tranchants au-dessus duquel plane le fantôme d’un géant de la littérature : Robert Louis Stevenson.

 

C’est cette même vision de la côte que l’auteur de L’île au trésor relate dans ses mémoires de voyages. Parti dans le Pacifique en direction d’Hawai à la recherche d’un climat plus clément pour ses poumons fragiles, Stevenson s’établit aux Samoa accompagné de sa famille en 1890. Il y passera les quatre dernières années de sa courte vie. Lorsqu’il fait construire la propriété de Vailima aux pieds du Mont Vaea, il est un auteur mondialement célèbre et un parfait inconnu pour les habitants de l’île. Né à Edimbourg en 1850, le romancier souffre depuis son enfance d’une santé fragile qui ne l’empêche pas de rompre avec l’héritage industriel de sa famille – fabricant de phare – pour se consacrer à l’écriture. Après avoir arpenté le massif des Cévennes à pied accompagné d’un âne, il connaitra le succès avec son premier roman L’île au trésor, qui assoit son statut d’écrivain populaire. Suivront L’Étrange cas du Docteur Jekyll et de Mr Hyde ou Le Maitre de Ballantrae dans lesquels l’auteur continuera d’explorer l’âme humaine en imprégnant ses romans de puissantes visions. C’est à 15 000 kilomètres de son Ecosse natale qu’il décida de finir sa vie d’écrivain voyageur en léguant aux Samoa un trésor culturel.

 

credits_pdeparscau_maison-de-robert-louis-stevenson-a-vailima
Maison de Robert Louis Stevenson à Vailima / © Pierre de Parscau / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

À son arrivée aux Samoa, Stevenson prend très vite fait et cause pour la défense des insulaires alors pris dans des conflits coloniaux qui opposent Américains, Allemands et Anglais. Cette proximité avec la population de l’île poussera les insulaires à le surnommer « Tusitala », le conteur d’histoire. Car si Stevenson ne parle pas encore la langue samoane, les habitants ont vite observé l’imagination débordante de l’écrivain qui s’imprègne bientôt des légendes du Pacifique pour se lancer dans de nouveaux projets d’écriture dont certains resteront inachevés. Sa maison semble avoir résisté au temps et aux ouragans qui l’ont pourtant longuement ravagée. Construite en bois par un architecte australien, elle fut pendant longtemps la plus grande bâtisse de l’île et accueillit d’illustres visiteurs venu saluer cet étonnant exilé.

Moustache tombante, visage émacié, regard fiévreux : sur les photographies qui ornent les murs de sa maison transformée en musée, Stevenson semble s’être changé en un personnage de roman. Devant son bureau qui fait face à une cheminée inattendue sous de telles latitudes, Margaret Silva la conservatrice du musée remonte dans l’histoire de cet auteur qui a écrit quelques pages de l’histoire de cette île. « Robert Louis Stevenson a fait beaucoup pour notre pays et a toujours été impliqué dans la politique locale. Il a aidé nos pères fondateurs à acquérir l’indépendance et a même failli être déporté à cause de son engagement. » raconte-t-elle face aux photographies accrochées sur les lambris turquoises. « Il a été le premier européen à se rendre dans les prisons pour y livrer de la nourriture, des vêtements et des cigarettes. C’est pour cela que les samoans ont eu tant d’affection pour lui ».

 

 

credits_pdeparscau_rls-pose-avec-sa-famille-devant-sa-maison
Robert Louis Stevenson pose en famille devant sa maison © Pierre de Parscau / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Le 3 décembre 1894, Stevenson s’écroule sur le parquet du grand salon victime d’une hémorragie cérébrale. Le médecin n’eut pas le temps d’accourir depuis Apia. Contrairement à la tradition samoane qui veut que les proches soient enterrés au plus près des maisons, l’auteur demande dans ses dernières volontés à être inhumé « sous le ciel immense et étoilé », au sommet du Mont Vaea. L’abrupte sentier qui y mène encore aujourd’hui raconte à lui seul l’attachement des samoans pour Tusitala. Baptisé « le chemin des cœurs aimants », il fut tracé à même la forêt par les habitants de l’île au prix d’efforts colossaux pour permettre de transporter le cercueil de Stevenson. À la lumière des torches, ils furent 200 samoans à gravir la montagne pour accompagner l’écrivain vers sa dernière demeure. Jamais étranger n’avait été ainsi célébré dans l’île : le rituel funéraire fut celui d’un enterrement royal et le corps déposé sur un lit de corail entouré de pierres volcaniques. « Avant de mourir, Robert Louis Stevenson avait deux dernières volontés. » explique Margaret Silva. « La premier c’était d’être inhumé au sommet de la montagne, et la seconde c’était qu’on l’enterre avec ses bottes aux pieds. Quand les Samoans lui ont demandé pourquoi, il a répondu que les bottes avec lesquelles il avait arpenté cette île étaient celles qu’il voulait emporter avec lui. Cela signifiait qu’il voulait mourir avec le peuple des Samoa. »

 

credits_pdeparscau_tombe-robert-louis-stevenson
Tombe de Robert Louis Stevenson au sommet du Mont Vaea © Pierre de Parscau / Fondation Tara Expéditions

Après une rude heure de marche sous un soleil de plomb, le pèlerin parvient à une simple tombe blanche qui surplombe la baie de Apia. Sur une plaque de bronze a été gravé l’épitaphe composée par Stevenson lui-même en 1884, en guise de dernières paroles.

 

Under the wide and starry sky
Dig the grave and let me lie
Glad did I live and gladly die
And I laid me down with a will
This be the verse you grave for me
Here he lies where he longed to be
Home is the sailor, home from sea
And the hunter home from the hill
Sous le ciel immense et étoilé
Creuse la tombe et laisse-moi reposer
Heureux j’ai vécu et heureux je meurs
Et je m’allonge ici avec un vœu
Voici le verset que tu graveras pour moi
Ici il repose où il désirait être
Le marin est chez lui, de retour de la mer
Et le chasseur de retour de la colline

Pierre de Parscau

Articles associés