News from Tara… on land !

© Marie-Jose Gruber

11 January 2019

Tara completed her tour of the Pacific after 29 months of expedition and 100,000 km: the equivalent distance of two and a half times around-the-world. For the sailors, satisfied to have brought Tara back to her home port, and after a short well-deserved break, the work resumed, on dry land this time.

A few days after Tara’s return last October 27, everyone became active on deck and on the ground: Tara left Lorient La Base wharf for the Keroman naval repair area. The schooner was then hoisted out of the water with two large cranes and is now sheltered in the west cathedral of the dry dock site. Until April, the sailors and some outside workers will overhaul the boat to be ready for the European tour scheduled to begin in May 2019.

Prevention and restoration

Tara will undergo two types of maintenance: preventive and restorative. The first is the verification of a large part of the instruments, fins, rudders, generators, main engines, pumps, etc. Everything will be disassembled and some parts replaced if necessary. The restorative maintenance includes partial or complete changing of tools, as well as a “beauty treatment”: painting the deck, cleaning the hull and the submerged parts of the boat for better navigation performance.

P0670067Tara in the west cathedral of the Keroman repair site © François Aurat / Tara Expeditions Foundation

Security and compliance

Registered as a merchant marine vessel, Tara must comply with current international standards. This involves an annual visit including multiple verifications, for example, measurements of hull thickness. To return to sea, it is absolutely necessary for Tara to get a certificate of compliance with the standards of navigation, safety, security, care and protection of sailors aboard.

Volunteer reinforcements

New crew members, volunteers and outside help are expected to arrive in the coming days, a useful and highly anticipated reinforcement. This 5-month overhaul will allow Tara to leave for new adventures safely and comfortably!

Good luck to all at the Lorient Base!

Related articles

Des nouvelles de Tara : à sec !

© Marie-Jose Gruber

11 janvier 2019

Tara a clôturé  son tour du Pacifique après 100 000 km soit 29 mois d’expédition : l’équivalent de deux tours du monde et demi parcourus en terme de distance. Pour les marins, satisfaits d’avoir ramené Tara à bon port, et après une petite pause bien méritée, le travail a repris, à sec cette fois …

Quelques jours après le retour de Tara le 27 octobre dernier, et après un repos bien mérité, tous s’activent sur le pont et à terre : c’est le moment de la mise à sec ! Tara quitte le quai du port de Lorient La Base et rejoint l’aire de réparation navale de Keroman. La goélette est ensuite hissée hors de l’eau grâce à deux imposantes grues et est mise à l’abri dans la cathédrale Ouest de l’aire de chantier. Jusqu’en avril, les marins et autres intervenants extérieurs vont s’activer pour remettre le bateau en état afin qu’il soit prêt pour son tour d’Europe, dont le départ est prévu en mai 2019.

Prévenir et guérir

Pendant le chantier, Tara subit deux maintenances : une préventive et une curative. La première consiste en la vérification d’une grande partie des instruments, dérives, safrans, générateurs, moteurs principaux, pompes, etc. Tous sont démontés et certaines pièces sont remplacées si besoin. La seconde maintenance comprend un changement de pièces ou même d’outils complets, ainsi qu’une cure de beauté : peinture du pont, nettoyage de la coque et des œuvres vives – les parties du bateau situées sous la surface de l’eau – pour de meilleurs performances de navigation.

P0670067Tara dans la cathédrale Ouest de l’aire de chantier © François Aurat / Fondation Tara Expéditions

Sécurité et conformité

Puisque Tara est un navire immatriculé comme navire de la marine marchande, elle doit se conformer aux normes internationales en vigueur. Ceci implique une visite annuelle comprenant de multiples vérifications, comme par exemple, les mesures des épaisseurs de coque. Pour pouvoir reprendre la mer, il est absolument nécessaire que Tara obtienne un accord certifiant sa conformité aux normes de navigation, de sécurité, de sûreté, de soin et de protection des marins en mer.

Bénévoles en renfort

Des nouveaux membres d’équipage, bénévoles et intervenants extérieurs devraient arriver dans les prochains jours, un renfort utile et très attendu. Ce chantier de 5 mois permettra à Tara de repartir pour de nouvelles aventures en toute sécurité en tout confort !

Bon courage à tous sur la Base de Lorient !

Articles associés