Stopover in Panama City

©

18 July 2016

After traversing the Panama Canal, Tara made a 48-hour stopover in Panama City. A short stop to resolve some technical problems and welcome aboard new team members, including scientists who will study the first coral reefs of the expedition.

Tara set sail in the night to head for the Las Perlas archipelago, or more exactly the outskirts of Saboga, a Panamanian island a few hours from Panama City. This archipelago will be the expedition’s first site for coral sampling. The short stopover in Panama City officially marks the start of the Tara Pacific expedition and required good coordination to prepare this first leg.

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-PANAMA CITY-PREMIER LEG-SCIENCES-SARAH ROMAC-BD-1
Sarah Roman (sampling coordinator) prepares the material for the first sampling off Saboga Island, Panama © Maéva Bardy / Tara Expeditions Foundation

 

A taxi boat called “lancha” runs between the dock and boats anchored offshore, bringing the new team to Tara. Among them are the scientists in charge of collecting the first coral reef samples of the Tara Pacific expedition. After a few minutes devoted to presenting the crew and life aboard the boat, they set up their equipment and prepare for the first underwater sampling, scheduled for the next morning.

David Hannan, underwater cameraman, and David Monmarche, in charge of hyperbaric operations are two of the new arrivals. David Monmarche wastes no time since the first dives begin the next day. He is busy preparing the diving equipment on Tara’s aft deck. He turns on the compressor, checks the light and sound of the safety equipment, and prepares scuba tanks. As for François Aurat, he replaces Julie Lhérault as deck officer.

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-PANAMA CITY-PREMIER LEG-DAVID MONMARCHE-SECURITE-BD-1
David Monmarche (head hyperbaric operator) prepares safety kits for the dive © Maéva Bardy / Tara Expeditions Foundation

 

Meanwhile other crew members are repairing equipment damaged by lightning. The “lancha” arrives with another delivery for Tara. It’s liquid nitrogen for sample preservation and fresh produce to feed the 17 team members before Tara’s return to Panama City in 10 days.

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-PANAMA CITY-PREMIER LEG-AVITAILLEMENT-STEPHANE PESANT-BD-1
Stéphane Pesant (scientist in charge of data management) is responsible for liquid nitrogen supply © Maéva Bardy / Tara Expeditions Foundation

 

Provisions were pre-ordered to be delivered before departure. The liquid nitrogen supply was coordinated by the Smithsonian Research Institute located in Panama. This organization worked with Tara scientists to facilitate access to resources and manage sampling permits in Panamanian waters. The fresh produce was also pre-ordered, by sailor-cook Marion Lauters, before Tara’s arrival in Panama City.

The whole team is ready. Tara Pacific can begin!

Maéva Bardy

Related articles

Escale à Panama City

©

18 juillet 2016

Après la traversée du Canal de Panama, Tara a fait escale 48 heures à Panama city. Une courte halte, qui a permis à la fois de régler quelques aspects techniques et d’accueillir à bord les nouveaux membres de l’équipe, dont les scientifiques venus étudier les premiers récifs coralliens de l’expédition.

Tara a levé l’ancre cette nuit pour se diriger vers l’archipel Las Perlas, et plus exactement aux abords de Saboga, une île panaméenne à quelques heures de navigation de Panama City. Cet archipel sera la première station de prélèvements de coraux de l’expédition. La courte escale à Panama City marque ainsi le début de Tara Pacific et a nécessité une bonne coordination afin de préparer au mieux ce premier leg.

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-PANAMA CITY-PREMIER LEG-SCIENCES-SARAH ROMAC-BD-1
Sarah Roman (coordinatrice échantillons) prépare la matériel pour les premiers échantillons de l’île Saboga, au Panama © Maéva Bardy / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Un bateau taxi appelé « lancha », fait la navette entre le quai et les bateaux au mouillage. Il accoste Tara pour déposer la nouvelle équipe. Parmi eux, les scientifiques en charge des premiers échantillonnages de récifs coralliens de Tara Pacific. Après quelques instants consacrés à la présentation de l’équipage, du bateau et de la vie à bord, ils installent et préparent leur matériel pour les premiers prélèvements sous-marins, prévus dès le lendemain matin.

David Hannan cameraman sous-marin, et David Monmarche en charge des opérations hyperbares font partie de ces nouveaux arrivants. Pour David Monmarche, pas de temps à perdre, les premières plongées commencent le lendemain. Il s’active à la préparation des équipements de plongée sur la plage arrière de Tara. Il met en route le compresseur, vérifie l’équipement de sécurité lumineux et sonore, prépare les bouteilles de plongée, etc. Quant à François Aurat, il prend la relève de Julie Lhérault, au poste de chef de pont.

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-PANAMA CITY-PREMIER LEG-DAVID MONMARCHE-SECURITE-BD-1
David Monmarche (chef de plongée) prépare les valises de sécurité pour la plongée © Maéva Bardy / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Pendant ce temps, les autres membres de l’équipage s’affairent à réparer le matériel endommagé par la foudre. La « lancha », accoste Tara une nouvelle fois pour livrer tout un chargement. Il s’agit de la livraison d’azote liquide dédié à la conservation des échantillons, et de l’avitaillement en produits frais pour nourrir les 17 membres de l’équipe jusqu’au retour du bateau à Panama City, dans dix jours.

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-PANAMA CITY-PREMIER LEG-AVITAILLEMENT-STEPHANE PESANT-BD-1
Stéphane Pesant (scientifique en charge de la gestion des données) se charge de l’avitaillement en azote liquide © Maéva Bardy / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Cet approvisionnement a été anticipé en amont afin d’être livré à temps. La commande d’azote liquide a été coordonnée par Smithonian Tropical Research Institute, situé au Panama. Cette structure d’accueil a collaboré avec les scientifiques de Tara, pour faciliter l’accès aux ressources et gérer les autorisations de prélèvements dans les eaux Panaméennes. La commande de produits frais a elle aussi, été exécutée en amont par Marion Lauters, marin-cuisinière, avant l’arrivée de Tara à Panama City.

Toute l’équipe est parée, Tara Pacific peut commencer !

Maéva Bardy

Articles associés