Stopover in Hong Kong, the “Asian New York”

© Agathe Roullin / Tara Expeditions Foundation

14 March 2018

Tara is currently in Hong Kong for 10 days as part of the Tara Pacific expedition. The objective of this stopover is to meet the people of this dynamic port city, then do some scientific dives to study the corals of the archipelago.

After leaving Sanya and the Chinese « Riviera », Tara continued her route north in the direction of Hong Kong. A former British colony retroceded to China in 1997, Hong Kong is a « special administrative region » which includes a mainland (Kowloon) and the archipelago facing it. Its 7.3 million inhabitants have their own political, legislative, legal, economic and financial systems, different from those of the Chinese, so the Taranauts had to exchange their Chinese yuan for Hong Kong dollars.

DCIM100MEDIADJI_0044.JPGTara moored in front of the Hong Kong Maritime Museum, ready to welcome visits onboard – © Agathe Roullin / Tara Expeditions Foundation

 

In the city center surrounded by a multitude of buildings competing to reach the sky, the schooner is organizing visits aboard for the people of Hong Kong. This is the very first time Tara has stopped here. A city/region encircled by the sea, Hong Kong is an essential port of call for the Tara Pacific expedition: «We could not be in Asia without stopping in Hong Kong» says Romain Troublé, executive director of the Tara Expeditions Foundation. «Historically, this is an important maritime center. But it’s also an ultra-urbanized territory, where the coral is very exposed to the stress of pollution. It’s therefore very interesting for us to see how the reefs behave and adapt to this pollution».

In addition to meeting the public, the Taranauts will make the most of this visit to Hong Kong by organizing dives to collect samples in the archipelago with the collaboration of 4 scientists from the University of Hong Kong. Afterwards, the schooner will continue her route to Taiwan.

Related articles

Escale au coeur du New York asiatique

© Agathe Roullin / Tara Expeditions Foundation

14 mars 2018

Tara, qui continue de parcourir le Pacifique, est désormais à Hong Kong pour une dizaine de jours. Une escale en forme de rencontre avec les Hongkongais, qui s’achèvera par des plongées scientifiques pour étudier les coraux de l’archipel.

Après Sanya et la chinese riviera, Tara a continué sa route vers le nord, direction Hong Kong. Ancienne colonie britannique rétrocédée à la Chine en 1997, Hong Kong – qui comprend une partie continentale (Kowloon) et l’archipel qui lui fait face – est une « région administrative spéciale ». Ses 7,3 millions d’habitants bénéficient de systèmes politique, législatif, juridique, économique et financier propres, différents de ceux des Chinois, et les Taranautes ont donc dû troquer leurs yuans chinois contre des dollars hongkongais.

DCIM100MEDIADJI_0044.JPGTara au coeur de Hong Kong, amarrée devant le Musée Maritime et prête à accueillir le public pour des visites à bord – © François Aurat / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

En plein centre-ville, entourée d’une multitude de buildings en concurrence pour atteindre le ciel, la goélette s’ouvre aux Hongkongais pour leur raconter son histoire. C’est la première fois que Tara y fait escale. Cité-région encerclée par la mer, Hong Kong est une étape incontournable de l’expédition Tara Pacific : “On ne pouvait pas passer en Asie sans s’arrêter à Hong Kong”, explique Romain Troublé, directeur général de la Fondation Tara Expéditions. “Historiquement, c’est un comptoir maritime important. Mais c’est aussi un territoire ultra-urbanisé, où le corail est très exposé aux stress de la pollution. C’est donc très intéressant pour nous de voir comment les récifs se comportent et s’adaptent à cette pollution. »

Car en plus de rencontrer le public, Tara profitera de son passage à Hong Kong pour échantillonner dans l’archipel, avec le renfort de quatre scientifiques de l’Université de Hong Kong, avant de continuer sa route vers Taïwan.

Articles associés