Goodbye Boston ! Goodbye America !

© Céline Bellanger / Tara Expeditions Foundation

5 October 2018

Tara left the USA today after a week-long stopover in Boston. Immersed in the dynamic intellectual life of Harvard University, the Taranauts took part in numerous exchanges and presented the scientific projects in progress. Moored at the docks of the most European of American cities, the crew also took advantage of this last stopover to gradually adapt to a colder climate before the big return to France.

 School children visiting the schooner © Céline Bellanger – Tara Expeditions Foundation

After several months in the tropics, this last stopover on the American continent gave the Taranauts a chance to re-adapt to a climate similar to Brittany’s! Thunderstorms, drizzle, fog and rain. We had to take out raincoats and sweatshirts stored at the bottom of our bags! But the inclement weather did not discourage the young Bostonians, who were excited to visit Tara and learn more about the fascinating life of corals.

The schooner was moored close to one of the oldest historic centers in the US, so the Taranauts also reconnected culturally. Victorian architecture reminiscent of the United Kingdom, Irish and Italian neighborhoods — the stopover in Boston created a smooth transition to Europe. What’s more, the French language took over on deck and in the main cabin during visits attended by many French speakers, including representatives of the French Consulate.

Visit of the French consul in Boston © Céline Bellanger – Tara Expeditions Foundation

This last stop was also an immersion in the heart of the intellectual life of the most famous American university: Harvard! Cell biologist Eric Karsenti presented his research on embryogenesis and talked about the Tara Oceans expedition (2009-2013) of which he was the scientific director. As part of these exchanges, the Taranauts took part in discussions on themes such as scientific and human adventure, exploration, and transmission of knowledge.

Eric Karsenti’s lecture at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study (Harvard University) © Céline Bellanger – Tara Expeditions Foundation


We began stocking up on fuel (bunkering) and supplies as the threat of hurricane Leslie faded away. Departure time is approaching and Tara is ready for the big return!

Céline Bellanger

Related articles

Goodbye Boston ! Goodbye America !

© Céline Bellanger / Tara Expeditions Foundation

5 octobre 2018

Tara quitte les USA aujourd’hui après une escale d’une semaine à Boston. Immergés dans la foisonnante vie intellectuelle de l’université de Harvard, les Taranautes ont pris part à de nombreux échanges et présenté les projets scientifiques en cours. Amarré aux quais de la plus européenne des villes américaines, l’équipage a aussi profité de cette dernière escale pour se réacclimater en douceur, avant le grand retour en France.

 Ecoliers visitant la goélette © Céline Bellanger / Fondation Tara Expéditions

Après plusieurs mois passés sous les tropiques, cette dernière escale sur le continent américain a permis aux Taranautes de se réabituer au climat breton ! Eclaircies, bruine, brouillard, pluie… Il a fallu ressortir les imperméables et les polaires rangés au fond des équipets ! Ces intempéries n’ont pourtant pas freiné les petits bostoniens, qui se sont pressés pour visiter Tara et en apprendre plus sur la vie fascinante des coraux.

La goélette amarrée à deux pas d’un des centres historiques les plus anciens des USA, les Taranautes se sont aussi reconnectés culturellement ! Architecture victorienne rappelant le Royaume-Uni, quartiers irlandais ou italiens : l’escale à Boston a amorcé en douceur le retour vers l’Europe. La langue française a aussi réinvesti le pont et le carré de la goélette, lors de visites auxquelles ont participé de nombreux francophones, dont les représentants du Consulat français.

Visite du Consul de France à Boston © Céline Bellanger / Fondation Tara Expéditions

Reconnection climatique et culturelle, cette dernière halte a aussi été une immersion, un bain bouillonnant, au cœur de la vie intellectuelle de la plus célèbre université américaine : Harvard ! Eric Karsenti, biologiste cellulaire, y a notamment présenté ses travaux de recherche sur l’embryogénèse et l’expédition Tara Océans (2009-2013) dont il a été le directeur scientifique. Dans le cadre de ces échanges, les Taranautes ont pris part à des discussions, autour de thématiques telles que l’aventure scientifique et humaine, l’exploration ou la transmission des savoirs.

Conférence d’Eric Karsenti à la Radcliffe Institue for Advanced Study à l’Université d’Harvard © Céline Bellanger / Fondation Tara Expéditions

Le soutage et les approvisionnements sont en cours tandis que les prévisions météo concernant l’ouragan Leslie se dissipent : l’heure du départ approche et Tara semble fin prête pour le grand retour !

Céline Bellanger

Articles associés