STRONG WINDS FOR TARA ON THE WAY TO VIETNAM

© Noëlie Pansiot / Tara Expeditions Foundation

14 February 2018

Tara arrived in Vietnam on Wednesday, February 7th, but unfortunately did not receive a sampling permit from the Vietnamese government. The China Sea is a complex geo-strategic region which makes it very difficult for the expedition at present. Disappointed at not being able to resume their underwater explorations, the crew had some consolation thanks to optimal sailing conditions between Pangatalan and Nha Trang in the China Sea. Driven by a north-north-east wind, the schooner raced towards Vietnam all sails unfurled.

 

The Taranauts who set foot on the concrete dock of Nha Trang port were feeling happy. The seaside resort is disfigured by huge hotel complexes catering to mass tourism, and it certainly doesn’t have the charm of the pristine islands of the Palawan archipelago. But the crew didn’t care. This time the Pacific had offered them a totally new gift: a strong wind – between 25 and 35 knots – for a long, starboard tack, which allowed them to reach Vietnam in just 3 and a half days. “These were the ideal conditions for Tara”, explains Nicolas Bin, first mate. “We hoisted almost all the sails. The wind was blowing so hard we had to reduce the main and the foresail. One night I even had to wake up Sam the captain, to take a reef up front. The wind was too powerful, it was pulling too hard on the rigging”. But no doubt about it, “This was the most wonderful sailing I’ve experienced, along with the one between Japan and Taiwan. To see the boat moving at full speed – 140 tonnes launched at 10 knots – is really impressive”.

 

4_Explications_manoeuvre_Sam_Audrain_et_Nico_Bin@Noelie_PansiotDiscussion between sailors before hoisting the mainsail – © Noëlie Pansiot / Tara Expeditions Foundation

 

“We finally got to experience Tara with lots of wind in her sails!”

The scientists aboard Tara are not necessarily seasoned sailors. But when we left the small island of Pangatalan, everyone was excited. Some people already guessed that the waves and pitching would get the better of their stomachs since Tara, with her rounded hull, is a “roller”. “We finally got to experience Tara with lots of wind in her sails!”

Gaëlle Quéré, CNRS-CRIOBE postdoctoral researcher, was delighted: “We were able to participate in the maneuvers and raise the sails. I loved it.” Guillaume Iwankow, head of scientific diving at CRIOBE, had suffered from the vagaries of the wind during his previous 5 voyages. “Sailing during night watch, without a sound, with the stars just for myself – It’s a childhood dream, moments I will remember forever.”

 

In Vietnam without a permit

Strong wind in the sails brought some consolation to the frustrated scientists. As in Indonesia and the Philippines, they just found out they won’t get the necessary authorizations to take samples in Vietnamese waters.
Docked for several days, the team is trying to stay busy. Writing articles, meeting with the Oceanographic Institute of Nha Trang, and a little tourism. The time seems long, but Guillaume Iwankow puts things into perspective: “We could have had neither science nor wind!” Let’s hope this series of disappointments doesn’t last. China is the next stop on Tara’s route.

Agathe Roullin

Related articles

GRAND VENT POUR TARA ET CAP SUR LE VIETNAM

© Noëlie Pansiot / Tara Expeditions Foundation

14 février 2018

Tara est arrivée au Vietnam mercredi 7 février. Malheureusement sans le sésame accordé par le gouvernement du pays : le permis d’échantillonnage. La Mer de Chine est une zone géostratégique complexe qui rend l’expédition aujourd’hui plus difficile à mener. Déçu de ne pas pouvoir reprendre les plongées, l’équipage s’est consolé d’une belle navigation en mer de Chine, entre Pangatalan et Nha Trang. Poussée par un vent de nord-nord-est, la goélette a filé vers le Vietnam, toutes voiles dehors.

 

Ce sont des Taranautes comblés qui posent le pied sur le quai bétonné du port de Nha Trang. Avec ses gigantesques complexes hôteliers, la cité balnéaire défigurée par le tourisme de masse ne présente pas le charme des îles vierges de l’archipel des Palawan, mais l’équipage s’en moque. Car cette fois, le Pacifique leur a offert un tout autre cadeau : du vent – entre 25 et 35 nœuds – pour un long bord de travers, tribord amure, qui leur a permis de rallier les Philippines au Vietnam en seulement trois jours et demi. « C’étaient les conditions idéales pour Tara, explique Nicolas Bin, second. On a quasiment tout envoyé ! On a même dû prendre un ris dans la grand voile et la misaine. Au coucher du soleil, on réduisait encore la voilure, histoire d’être tranquille, car on tourne en quart de deux la nuit, un marin et un scientifique. Un soir, j’ai quand même dû réveiller Sam, le capitaine, pour enrouler un peu le yankee, ça devenait trop puissant, ça tirait trop sur le gréement. » Toutefois le verdict est sans appel : « C’est ma plus belle nav’, avec celle entre le Japon et Taïwan. Revoir le bateau avancer à pleine vitesse… 140 tonnes lancées à 10 nœuds, c’est impressionnant. »

 

4_Explications_manoeuvre_Sam_Audrain_et_Nico_Bin@Noelie_PansiotDébrief entre marins avant de lever la grand-voile – © Noëlie Pansiot / Tara Expeditions Foundation

 

« Enfin, on allait sentir Tara avec beaucoup de vent dans les voiles ! »

Les scientifiques embarqués sur Tara ne sont pas forcément des marins aguerris. Mais au moment de quitter la petite île de Pangatalan, tous sont excités. Même si certains devinent déjà que la houle et le roulis auront bientôt raison de leurs estomacs, car avec sa coque arrondie, Tara est un bateau très « rouleur ».

« Enfin, on allait sentir Tara avec beaucoup de vent dans les voiles ! » Gaëlle Quéré, chercheur post-doctoral CNRS-CRIOBE, se réjouit : « On a pu participer aux manœuvres, lever les voiles, j’ai adoré. » Guillaume Iwankow, chef de plongée scientifique au CRIOBE, avait lui aussi souffert des caprices du vent lors de ses cinq embarquements précédents. « Un quart de nuit à la voile, sans un bruit, avec les étoiles pour soi… C’est un vrai rêve de gosse, des moments que je garderai en tête à tout jamais. »

 

Au Vietnam sans permis

Ce grand vent dans les voiles est venu apporter un peu de consolation à des scientifiques en mal de science. Car après l’Indonésie et les Philippines, ils apprennent qu’ils n’auront pas non plus les autorisations nécessaires pour effectuer des prélèvements dans les eaux vietnamiennes.

A quai pour plusieurs jours, l’équipe tâche alors de s’occuper. Rédaction d’articles, rencontre avec l’Institut océanographique de Nha Trang et un peu de tourisme. Le temps s’étire, mais Guillaume Iwankow relativise : « On aurait pu n’avoir ni science, ni vent ! ». En espérant tout de même que la série noire ne durera pas. La Chine est la prochaine étape sur la route de Tara.

Agathe Roullin

Articles associés