Youth on the other side of the world

© Pierre de Parscau / Fondation Tara Expéditions

15 November 2016

She’s been observing us for 3 days from the island’s rare hilltops  a tongue of greenery in the northwest region of the Cook Islands. From aboard Tara, anchored at the entrance of the lagoon, Aitutaki looks like the end of the earth. To encounter life on this land, you must venture beyond a deserted main street and take a familiar route: the road to school.

A wide lawn serves as a playground, classrooms open to the outside, a soggy tennis court. Located in the heights of Aitutaki, the school looks almost like a tropical campus. On porches sheltered from the rain, English language mingles with Maori in conversations and lessons. Kimi is putting a tiare flower in her hair when I call out to ask the way. Her face breaks into a big smile, then she leads me on a visit of the school.

 

p132013117-year-old Kimi, in front of her school © Pierre de Parscau / Tara Expeditions Foundation

 

« We’re all related here, brothers, cousins, nephews, you can take your choice! (laughs). Everyone here  knows everybody else. You can’t walk on the island without someone shouting ‘kaiman’ –   come here – inviting you to his house.» Through the plastic shutters of classroom windows I see childrens’ faces. Drawing classes, cooking, music;  here handicrafts have an important place and can sometimes prepare kids for an active work life. Kimi has been attending these classes since she was 3, growing up with other kids her age. At 17, she has reached the end of the school curriculum in Aitutaki. Like many young people of her age, faced with a lack of professional perspectives, she will have to consider leaving the island to pursue her studies and forge a future. Far from home.

Despite Aitutaki’s attraction for tourists, its economy doesn’t allow these young people to envisage a future on the spot. A few children of fishermen or farmers will work with their families, while others might hope for a civil service job, a promise of security. At the entrance of the woodworking class we meet 16 year old Leslie, who has just finished a shelf made of recycled wood found on the coast. The teacher here, from New Zealand, talks to her students about the effects of climate change on the Aitutaki lagoon, and about the increasing pollution.

 

cook_islands
 

Aitutaki, in the middle of the Pacific Ocean © Wikipédia

 

« The lagoon has become dirtier. Foreigners who come here often leave behind their trash, » says Leslie. « It’s not their island so they don’t care.»  On one of the worktables, some drawings evoke a vision of the future for these children. Open windows and seashells stamped with ink illustrate a link with the Pacific. « My father has a small fishing boat,» says Leslie. « On weekends he sometimes takes me out in the boat, or else we go for a picnic on the motu (author’s note: islets on the edge of reefs).  I’ve decided to stay in Aitutaki, near the sea. I couldn’t live far away from here.»

The 2 friends both have family in New Zealand, and still remember their first impression when they discovered Auckland a few years ago. « My first impression was ‘Wow’ » says Kimi. « What surprised me most was all the people in the malls. You could buy lots of things for very little money, whereas here you can’t find anything for $2. My brother went to live there several years ago, but he doesn’t come to see us anymore. It’s difficult for my family.»

 

p1320146Aitutaki schoolboys © Pierre de Parscau /  Tara Expeditions Foundation

 

On the tennis court, a water-soaked ball passes from one racket to another. In this region of the Pacific, sports are also an opportunity for youth. Among the children of Aitutaki, some are regularly spotted by foreign coaches to reinforce their local and international rugby teams. An opportunity in the form of an uprooting for these island families and for those young people who, like Kimi, will have to emigrate.

« I get home-sick very quickly. Here we grow up free and safe, while on the outside, people live in closed houses like prisoners. When you leave here, you leave your family, and part of your life behind.»

Among these exiled youth, some will return to Aitutaki to found their own families and invest in the region. For the others, the island will conserve their memories of childhood and the perfume of  paradise lost.

Pierre de Parscau

Related articles

Jeunesse du bout du monde

© Pierre de Parscau / Fondation Tara Expéditions

15 novembre 2016

Elle nous observe depuis maintenant trois jours du haut de ces quelques reliefs, langue de verdure perdue au Nord-Ouest des îles Cook. Depuis le mouillage de TARA à l’entrée du lagon, Aitutaki a des allures de bout du monde. Pour rencontrer la vie à terre, il faut s’aventurer par-delà une rue principale déserte pour prendre une route familière : le chemin de l’école.

Une large pelouse en guise de cour de récréation, des salles de classes ouvertes sur l’extérieur, un terrain de tennis détrempé. Sur les hauteurs d’Aitutaki, l’école aurait presque des allures de campus tropical. Sous les perrons à l’abri de la pluie, l’anglais se mêle au maori au fil des conversations et des leçons. Kimi ajuste une fleur de tiaré dans ses cheveux lorsque je l’interpelle pour lui demander mon chemin. Un grand sourire plus tard, elle commence la visite de son école.

 

p1320131Kimi, 17 ans, dans la cour de son école © Pierre de Parscau / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

« Nous sommes tous liés ici, frères, cousins, neveux, vous avez l’embarras du choix ! (rires). Tout le monde se connaît ici depuis toujours. Tu ne peux pas te promener sur l’île sans que quelqu’un te crie Kaiman – viens voir par ici – et ne t’invite chez lui ». À travers les persiennes en plastiques des fenêtres des classes, les visages des enfants défilent. Cours de dessins, de cuisine, de musique, ici les travaux manuels tiennent une place importante et peuvent parfois préparer à la vie active. Kimi a elle aussi parcouru ces classes depuis ses 3 ans et grandit avec ceux de sa génération. À 17 ans, elle a atteint la fin de son cursus scolaire à Aitutaki. Comme beaucoup de jeunes de son âge confrontés au manque de perspective professionnelle, elle devra envisager de quitter son île pour poursuivre ses études et se forger un avenir.
Loin de chez elle.

Malgré son attractivité touristique, l’économie d’Aitutaki ne permet pas à ces jeunes d’envisager un futur sur place. Quelques rares enfants de pêcheurs ou d’agriculteurs reprendront le travail familial, d’autres pourront espérer trouver un emploi de fonctionnaire, gage de sécurité. À l’entrée de la classe de menuiserie nous retrouvons Leslie, 16 ans, qui vient de terminer une étagère faîte de bois recyclé retrouvé sur la côte. Ici, l’enseignante néo-zélandaise sensibilise ses élèves aux effets du changement climatique sur le lagon d’Aitutaki et sur la pollution de plus en plus présente.

 

cook_islands
 © Wikipédia

 

« Le lagon est devenu plus sale, les étrangers qui viennent y jettent souvent leurs déchets, précise Leslie. Ce n’est pas leur île alors ils s’en moquent. ». Sur l’un des établis, quelques dessins évoquent la vision de l’avenir de ces enfants. Fenêtres ouvertes et coquillages tamponnés à l’encre, tous illustrent un lien avec le Pacifique. « Mon père a un petit bateau de pêche, raconte Leslie. Le week-end il m’emmène parfois avec lui au large ou pique-niquer sur les motu (îlots en bordure de récifs – ndA). Moi j’ai décidé de rester habiter à Aitutaki, près de la mer, je ne pourrais pas vivre loin d’ici. »

Les deux amies ont chacune de la famille en Nouvelle Zélande et se souviennent encore de leur première impression en découvrant Aukland il y a quelques années. « Wahou, c’était ça ma première impression » s’amuse Kimi. « Ce qui m’a surpris le plus c’était tout ce monde dans les centres commerciaux. On pouvait acheter plein de choses pour pas cher alors qu’ici on ne trouve rien pour 2$. Mon frère est parti vivre là-bas il y a plusieurs années mais il ne vient plus nous voir, c’est difficile pour ma famille. »

 

p1320146Ecoliers d’Aitutaki  © Pierre de Parscau / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Sur le terrain de tennis, une balle gorgée d’eau passe d’une raquette à l’autre. Dans cette région du Pacifique, le sport est aussi une opportunité pour la jeunesse. Parmi les enfants d’Aitutaki, certains sont régulièrement repérés par des entraineurs étrangers pour aller renforcer les lignes des équipes de rugby locales et internationales. Une chance en forme de déchirement pour ces familles insulaires et pour ces jeunes qui, comme Kimi, devront s’expatrier.

« J’ai très vite le mal du pays. Ici on a grandi libres et en sécurité alors qu’à l’extérieur les gens vivent dans des maisons fermées, comme des prisonniers. Quand tu pars d’ici tu laisses ta famille derrière toi et une part de ta vie. »

Parmi cette jeunesse en exil, certains reviendrons à Aitutaki pour fonder leur propre famille et investir sur le territoire. Pour les autres l’île conservera les souvenirs de l’enfance et le parfum du paradis perdu.

Pierre de Parscau

Articles associés