Julie Lhérault, woman, sailor and deck officer | Tara, a schooner for the planet

Julie Lhérault, woman, sailor and deck officer

© Sarah Fretwell / Fondation Tara Expéditions

7 June 2016

First time aboard Tara for Julie Lhérault, sailor and deck officer. 27 years old and a dream come true. She gladly talks about her passions and her career path.

A few days before the departure of the Tara Pacific expedition, Julie Lhérault boarded Tara for the first time as deck officer. On board, the schooner was like an anthill, everyone rushing to finish preparations. Julie was busy sealing portholes, verifying deck fittings, tidying up rigging in the forward hold and climbing the mast to control splice ropes and pulleys. “Everything has to be checked to make sure all is clean and organized in case we need to maneuver quickly.” Work is sometimes physical but a deck officer is always joyful and energetic: “I don’t know how to rest anyway. I need to keep busy.”

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-JULIE LHERAULT-CHEF DE PONT-1
Julie Lherault, deck officer, checks the fittings on Tara bridge © Maéva Bardy

 

Sailing is a passion inherited from her father since childhood. At the age of 13, Julie already knew she wanted to make it her career. She dropped out of college when she was 18 to become a volunteer at the Glénans sailing school where she qualified as an instructor specializing in cruising. At 21, she worked on charter vessels between the roaring 40s and the furious 50s, one of the most dangerous regions for navigation. Yet, despite the cold, frostbite to the fingers, hazardous sailing conditions, fog and icebergs, there were 5 years of unforgettable memories on a human level. “It was like being in a cocoon.” Moreover, the sumptuous landscapes make you forget everything else. Last winter when she returned from this region with a water temperature of 5°C, it was the first time she’d seen rain in years. Bringing tourists to discover this particularly threatened environment wasn’t enough: “I couldn’t remain passive and just watch.

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-JULIE LHERAULT-CHEF DE PONT-3
Julie Lherault, deck officer, at the bow of the boat to fix the yankee’s clew. © Maéva Bardy

 

Tara first crossed her path in Ushuaia in 2010. She celebrated Christmas Eve aboard the schooner with part of the crew who stayed there for the festive season. A friendly atmosphere reigned aboard. In the mess room, blinking headlamps were serving as Christmas lights. She immediately felt like part of a family. It’s not always the case in the world of sailing where a woman “often has to do twice as much as a man, and isn’t allowed to make any mistakes” she confides. From then on, she made every effort to become a member of the crew. After obtaining her Capitaine 200 license and Yacht Master certificate, she applied twice and succeeded. Now aboard Tara until the exit of the Panama Canal, she has a sense of accomplishment having brought together her values, passions and environmental sensitivity.

Maéva BARDY, On board correspondent

Related articles

Julie Lhérault, femme, marin et chef de pont

© Sarah Fretwell / Fondation Tara Expéditions

7 juin 2016

Premier embarquement à bord de Tara pour Julie Lhérault, marin et chef de pont. Un rêve qui se réalise à 27 ans… Elle nous dévoile avec plaisir ses passions et son parcours.

Quelques jours avant le départ de l’expédition Tara Pacific, Julie Lhérault embarque pour la première fois sur Tara, en tant que chef de pont. A bord règne une ambiance de fourmilière pour terminer à temps le chantier. Julie s’active sur le pont pour étanchéifier les hublots et entretenir les certaines pièces du pont, en cale avant pour ranger l’accastillage, en tête de mât pour contrôler les cordages (épissures) et les poulies… « Il faut avoir les yeux partout, vérifier que tout est bien propre et au clair au cas où il faille manœuvrer rapidement ». Le travail est parfois physique, mais la chef de pont a toujours le sourire et plein d’énergie à revendre : « De toute façon, je ne sais pas m’arrêter, il faut que je m’occupe ».

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-JULIE LHERAULT-CHEF DE PONT-1
Julie Lhérault, chef de pont, vérifie l’accastillage sur le pont de Tara © Maéva Bardy

 

La voile, une passion transmise depuis son plus jeune âge par son père. A 13 ans, Julie sait déjà qu’elle veut en faire son métier. Elle arrête les études à 18 ans pour devenir bénévole à l’école des Glénans où elle obtient son diplôme de monitrice de voile, option croisière. A 21 ans, elle part faire du charter entre les 40ème rugissants et les 50ème hurlants, une des régions les plus dangereuses pour la navigation. Pourtant, malgré le froid, les engelures aux doigts, la mer redoutable, le brouillard, les icebergs… elle garde en mémoire cinq années de souvenirs inoubliables sur le plan humain, « on était comme dans un cocon ». Et puis, les paysages somptueux font oublier tout le reste. L’hiver dernier, lorsqu’elle retourne dans cette région avec une eau à 5°C, c’était la première fois qu’elle voyait la pluie depuis des années. Amener des touristes pour découvrir cet environnement particulièrement menacé ne lui suffisait pas : « Je ne pouvais pas rester planter-là, à regarder ».

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-JULIE LHERAULT-CHEF DE PONT-3
Julie Lhérault, chef de pont, à l’étrave du bateau pour réparer la poulie du point d’écoute du yankee © Maéva Bardy

 

La première fois que Tara a croisé sa route, c’était en 2010, à Ushuaïa. Elle a réveillonné le soir de Noël à bord de la goélette avec une partie de l’équipage resté à l’occasion des fêtes de fin d’année. Une ambiance chaleureuse régnait à bord. Dans le carré, des lampes frontales clignotaient en guise de guirlandes lumineuses. Elle s’est sentie tout de suite faire partie d’une famille. Ce n’est pas toujours le cas dans le milieu de la voile où en tant que femme « il faut souvent en faire deux fois plus que les hommes, et on n’a pas le droit à l’erreur » se confie-t-elle. A partir de ce ce moment-là, elle mettra tout en œuvre pour faire partie de l’équipage. Ses diplômes de Capitaine 200 et de Yacht Master en poche, elle tente une fois, deux fois… Sa détermination aura finalement gain de cause. Aujourd’hui, à bord de Tara jusqu’à la sortie du Canal de Panama, elle a le sentiment d’avoir réussi à réunir ses valeurs, ses passions et sa sensibilité environnementale.

Maéva BARDY, correspondante de bord

Articles associés