Tara weighs anchor: 11,000 kilometers left before the corals of the Pacific | Tara, a schooner for the planet

Tara weighs anchor: 11,000 kilometers left before the corals of the Pacific

© Muriel Vandenbempt - Tara Expeditions Foundation

28 May 2016

Saturday evening May 28th, Tara headed out to sea on her 11th expedition, this time to the Asian-Pacific. For the next two and a half years the schooner will sail the planet’s largest ocean, exploring coral reefs in a new way to better understand the evolution of reef biodiversity in the face of climate change.

 

11,000 km before reaching the first reef in the Gulf of Panama

After a day of festivities celebrating Pacific cultures and coral, Tara left the harbor accompanied by  many boats that came to bid her farewell. “The adventure continues for Tara, and also for Lorient, her home port. This voyage will encourage everyone to focus on the specificity of the Pacific Ocean and also assess the environmental issues affecting our daily lives. For elected officials of the Lorient Agglomeration, TARA represents the values ​​of sustainable development and provides an excellent   illustration of our actions in the region”,  explains Norbert Metairie, president of Lorient Agglomeration and Mayor of Lorient.

From the port of Lorient to the first coral reefs of the eastern Pacific, Tara will travel 11,000 km, (6,000 nautical miles). After a 30-day Atlantic crossing, Tara will stopover in Miami on the east coast of the United States before entering the Panama Canal in mid-July.

 Le public est rassemblé sur le port pour le dernier au revoir à Tara et à son équipage.
© Fanch Galivel

40,000 samples of coral and seawater

The first dives on coral reefs will take place immediately after exiting the Panama Canal and will continue from east to west, all the way to Japan in the first year of the expedition. This campaign  associates coral biologists, chemists, oceanographers and plankton specialists who will investigate the behavior of coral reefs confronting climate change over a wide geographical area that has not yet been studied.

From June 2016 to September 2018, approximately 40,000 samples will be collected and will ultimately provide new information on the unknown role of certain biochemical parameters — acidity, salinity, turbidity, etc. We will also study certain species involved in the life of the reefs and their adaptation to major environmental changes.

28 Mai 2016 à Lorient, départ de l'expédition Tara Pacific
© Fanch Galivel

Many stopovers to raise public awareness

Reefs are true oases of life: they offer food and shelter for a multitude of species and provide a direct livelihood to over 500 million people in the world thanks to fishing. During the 2-year expedition, Tara will make 70 stopovers to raise awareness concerning the richness and fragility of  reefs.

The Tara Expeditions Foundation will take advantage of this expedition to appeal to policy makers and the business world, to raise public awareness about the most pressing environmental challenges as well as the problems faced by populations who depend on an ocean in good health.

“For biologically rich regions such as lagoons and coral reefs, protective measures are increasingly needed. But parallel to conservation, it’s essential to support research — to better understand and effectively protect these reefs”, says Romain Troublé, executive director of the Tara Expeditions Foundation. Sustainable development and establishing an ongoing dialogue about the environment are long-term challenges for the beginning of the 21st century.

 Un dernier au revoir de l'équipage, prêt à lever l'ancre pour le début de l'expédition Tara Pacific
© Fanch Galivel

Major stopovers

Panama, Malpelo (Colombia), Easter Island, Papeete (French Polynesia), Cook Islands, Samoa, Wallis and Futuna, Kiribati Islands, Micronesia, Mariana, Japan, Taiwan, Fiji, New Zealand, New Caledonia, Australia, Papua New Guinea, Palau, Philippines, China, Hong Kong, South Korea.

On the program: film-screening, exhibition, school visits, conference with a local association. At each stopover, Tara will meet with local people involved in research or the preservation of reefs and focus attention on the work being done.

Tara a levé l'ancre : dernière ovation de l'équipage pour remercier du soutien qu'elle a reçu© Isabelle Martos

Tara Pacific in numbers

• 11th Tara expedition since 2003
• 2-year voyage — May 2016 to September 2018
• 30 countries visited
• 70 stopovers
• 100,000 km covered
• 40 archipelagos systematically analyzed and compared
• 26 institutions and research laboratories collaborating
• 10 sites to be the subject of targeted studies about local issues, including 5 sites in 2016-2017
• 40,000 samples collected in 2 years
• 70 scientists embarking from 8 different countries

Tara lève l’ancre : 11 000 km avant les coraux du Pacifique

© Muriel Vandenbempt - Tara Expeditions Foundation

28 mai 2016

Ce samedi 28 mai en fin de journée, Tara a largué les amarres pour mener sa nouvelle et 11ème expédition en Asie-Pacifique. Durant 2 ans et demi, la goélette sillonnera l’océan le plus vaste de la planète pour ausculter de façon inédite la biodiversité des récifs coralliens et mieux comprendre son évolution face au changement climatique.

 

11 000 km avant les premiers récifs du Golfe du Panama

Après une journée de fête dédiée aux cultures du Pacifique et au corail, Tara a pris la mer aux cotés des nombreux plaisanciers venus saluer la goélette. « Pour Tara, l’aventure continue. Pour Lorient, son port d’attache aussi. Cette aventure permettra à tous de redécouvrir la particularité du Pacifique  et d’en mesurer les enjeux environnementaux qui se jouent aussi au plus près, dans notre quotidien. Pour les élus de Lorient Agglomération, TARA porte les valeurs du Développement Durable et représente une belle illustration de nos actions sur le territoire. » explique Norbert Métairie, président de Lorient Agglomération, maire de Lorient.

Du port de Lorient aux premiers récifs coralliens de l’Est Pacifique, Tara parcourra pas moins de 11.000 km (6.000 mn). Après une traversée de l’Atlantique de 30 jours, Tara fera escale sur la côte Est des Etats-Unis à Miami avant d’emprunter le Canal de Panama mi-juillet.

 Le public est rassemblé sur le port pour le dernier au revoir à Tara et à son équipage.
© Fanch Galivel

40 000 échantillons de coraux et d’eau de mer

Les premières plongées sur les récifs coralliens auront lieu dès la sortie du Canal de Panama et se poursuivront, d’Est en Ouest, jusqu’au Japon durant la première année de l’expédition. Cette campagne associe biologistes coralliens, chimistes, océanographes, spécialistes du plancton et tentera de comparer le comportement de récifs coralliens face aux changements climatiques sur une vaste zone géographique qui n’a pas encore été appréhendée.

De juin 2016 à septembre 2018, environ 40.000 échantillons seront prélevés et fourniront à terme de nouvelles données sur le rôle encore inconnu de certains paramètres biochimiques (acidité, salinité, turbidité, …) et certaines espèces intervenant dans la vie des récifs et leur adaptation aux changements environnementaux majeurs.

28 Mai 2016 à Lorient, départ de l'expédition Tara Pacific© Fanch Galivel

De nombreuses escales pour sensibiliser

Véritables oasis de vie, les récifs fournissent nourriture et abri à de nombreuses espèces. Ils assurent la subsistance directe à plus de 500 millions de personnes dans le monde grâce à la pêche. Au cours des 2 années d’expédition, Tara effectuera 70 escales pour sensibiliser sur la richesse et la fragilité des récifs.

La Fondation Tara Expéditions profitera de cette expédition pour interpeler les acteurs politiques et le monde économique, sensibiliser la société aux enjeux écologiques les plus urgents ainsi qu’aux problématiques rencontrées par les populations qui dépendent, comme tout un chacun, de la bonne santé de l’océan.

« Pour des régions de grande richesse biologique, comme les lagons et les barrières de coraux, des mesures de protection sont de plus en plus nécessaires. Mais en parallèle de la conservation de cette nature, il est indispensable de soutenir la recherche pour mieux connaître et protéger efficacement ces récifs » explique Romain Troublé, directeur général de la Fondation Tara Expéditions. Le développement durable et le dialogue environnemental sont des enjeux de long terme de ce début de XXIème siècle.

Un dernier au revoir de l'équipage, prêt à lever l'ancre pour le début de l'expédition Tara Pacific
© Fanch Galivel

Etapes majeures

Panama, Malpelo (Colombie), Ile de Pâques, Papeete (Polynésie Française), Iles Cook, Samoa, Wallis et Futuna, Iles Kiribati, Micronésie, Mariannes, Japon, Taïwan, Fidji, Nouvelle Zélande, Nouvelle Calédonie, Australie, Papouasie Nouvelle Guinée, Palau, Philippines, Chine, Hong Kong, Corée du Sud, …

Au programme des escales : Projection, exposition, visites de scolaires, conférence avec une association locale. A chaque escale Tara donnera la parole aux habitants et acteurs engagés dans la recherche ou la préservation des récifs pour faire connaître leur travail réalisé sur leurs territoires.

Tara a levé l'ancre : dernière ovation de l'équipage pour remercier du soutien qu'elle a reçu
© Isabelle Martos

Tara Pacific en chiffres

• 11ème expédition de Tara depuis 2003
• 2 ans d’expédition de mai 2016 à sept. 2018
• 30 pays visités
• 70 escales
• 100 000 km parcourus
• 40 archipels seront analysés de façon identique et ensuite comparés
• 10 sites feront l’objet d’études ciblées sur des problématiques locales dont 5 en 2016-2017
• Total de 40 000 échantillons en 2 ans
• 70 scientifiques embarqués issus de 8 pays différents
• 26 institutions et laboratoires de recherche