Setting into operation of the first measuring devices

©

11 August 2009

Setting into operation of the first measuring devices

At the side of the prestigious Pen Duick fleet, Tara, moored at the Eric Tabarly Cité de la voile pontoon continues its preparation under the watchful eyes of interested visitors. They are often surprised to see on the aft of the boat the wet laboratory modifying somewhat the shape and futuristic aesthetics of the polar schooner.

This week has been for us an important moment because it was the first positioning of the scientific equipment for continuous data taking. Installed in the dry laboratory inside, it was positioned and tested. Sacha, the Italian scientist specialised in the study of plankton and Hervé Legoff of CNRS adjusted the precision of the devices and therefore of the data during the sea outings. The positioned devices will be used to study the fluorescence of plankton and to take the characteristics of density, temperature, and salinity of sea water throughout Tara’s journey. 

Colomban de Vargas of the Roscoff laboratory (CNRS) and his team began fitting the filtration laboratory located on the bridge and have tested the large peristaltic pump which will pump water from a depth of 10 meters. This water will then be filtered in sieves smaller and smaller to take samples which will be stored in the -80 ° C freezer and then shipped to laboratories around the world and this at every port of call.
 
After 3 weeks from departure, there is a lot of activity on board. Welders from Timolor Company are completing the positioning and work in synergy with the scientific teams for the last modifications that can now be brought about after the tests during the sea outings. The difference in the type of trades and professions which combine on board, represents really the diversity which characterises Tara.

Next week we will continue with the installation of EMBL’s European laboratory. The time of departure is approaching fastly and everything is carried out to ensure that Tara leaves on 5 September its port of registry for many months under the best conditions.

Hervé Bourmaud, Tara’s skipper

Mise en fonction des premiers appareils de mesure

©

11 août 2009

Mise en fonction des premiers appareils de mesure

A côté de la prestigieuse flotte des Pen Duick, Tara, amarré au ponton de la Cité de la voile Eric Tabarly continue sa préparation sous l’oeil intéressé des visiteurs. Ils sont souvent étonnés de voir sur l’arrière du navire le laboratoire humide qui modifie quelque peu la forme et l’esthétique futuriste de la goélette polaire.

Cette semaine a été pour nous un moment important car ce fut la première mise en place du matériel scientifique de prise de données en continu. Installé dans le laboratoire sec à l’intérieur, il a été mis en place et testé. Sacha, scientifique italien spécialisé dans l’étude du plancton et Hervé Legoff du CNRS ont ajusté la précision des appareils et donc des données au cours des sorties en mer. Les appareils mis en place vont servir à étudier la fluorescence du plancton et à prendre les caractéristiques de densité, température et salinité de l’eau de mer tout au long du voyage de Tara.

Colomban de Vargas du laboratoire de Roscoff (CNRS) et son équipe ont commencé à aménager le laboratoire de filtration situé sur le pont et ont testé l’imposante pompe péristaltique qui va pomper de l’eau à 10 mètres de profondeur. Cette eau sera ensuite filtrée dans des tamis de plus en plus petits afin de prélever des échantillons qui seront conservés dans le congélateur –80°C puis expédiés dans les laboratoires du monde entier et ce à chaque escale.

A 3 semaines du départ, il y a beaucoup d’activité à bord. Les soudeurs de l’entreprise Timolor terminent la mise en place et travaillent en synergie avec les équipes scientifiques pour les dernières modifications qui peuvent être maintenant apportées après les tests lors des sorties en mer. La différence des genres, des corps de métiers qui se côtoient à bord représente vraiment la diversité qui caractérise Tara.

La semaine prochaine nous allons continuer le montage avec le laboratoire européen de l’EMBL. L’heure du départ s’approche à grand pas et tout est fait pour que Tara quitte, le 5 septembre son port d’attache pour de longs mois dans les meilleures conditions.

Hervé Bourmaud, capitaine de Tara