Shanghai, a key stage for Tara

© Noémie Olive / Tara Expeditions Foundation

2 May 2018

The entire crew was on deck during this 15-day stopover rich in encounters and events. Education, scientific meetings, cocktails with partners, and, as a central piece of this stopover, an exhibition at the Cartier Foundation. Tara accomplished her missions on all fronts.

Shanghai, a city adapting to changes in the People’s Republic of China

Young Chinese adults face challenges as imposing as the skyscrapers of Pudong, Shanghai’s business district. Within this meritocratic society, people must be even more competitive than before. Though a communist country, school and care incur additional fees, there is no superannuation, and everyone has to make his own mark. However, the Chinese see the glass as half-full and are optimistic. “When we consider our standard of living 30 years ago, we realize we moved from misery to “everything is possible”, so we’re not going to complain. On the contrary, what’s happening to us is pretty amazing” , Liwu says, a young man who studied in France and came back to China to be an actor and is witnessing his country’s phenomenal growth. Here, nostalgia is rare. China is being transformed and the media are looking forward to the day when China will become the world’s biggest economic power.

2.Romain_Troube_histoire_Tara@Noemie_Olive

Romain describes Tara’s various missions to an attentive audience © Noémie Olive / Tara Expeditions Foundation

The government wants to meet ecological challenges

Since the pollution peaks in 2013, the Chinese have been sensitive to environmental issues. Expatriates and Chinese people daily check applications on their phone to know the concentration of micro-particles and determine if they can go to the park with their children. The government promised to take measures to reduce pollution by providing more electric vehicles (petrol scooters have already been banned from large cities), building more ecological towers and supporting the north of the country to transition from coal to gas. China wants to continue to progress while adapting to the challenges of our time, including taking care of our planet.

From the continent to the ocean

Every day, the Taranauts presented the Tara Pacific expedition to Chinese and French children aged between 5 and 16. The crucial role of coral in preserving biodiversity was emphasized. 1,400 pupils visited the schooner and most classes were well prepared, thanks to their teachers and Tara Junior’s support. Many were already familiar with agnès b.’s role, the schooner’s history and the negative impact of plastic waste in the oceans.

In the afternoons, researchers from various institutes visited the scientific facilities aboard. In the evenings, Tara hosted cocktail receptions, where the crew served home-made appetizers and French dishes to long standing sponsors.

In the art world of art, Tara also has her place. The Cartier Foundation had reserved a space to screen the documentaries tracing the schooner’s 3 major missions: Tara Oceans, Tara Arctic and Tara Pacific. On the 5th floor of the Power Station of Arts (PSA), a former power plant transformed into the first Museum of Contemporary Art in China, an exhibition dedicated to Tara took place alongside great names in the contemporary art world such as Takeshi Kitano, Christian Boltanski, Raymond Depardon and Cai Guo-Qiang.

Noémie Olive

Related articles

Shanghai, étape phare pour Tara

© Noémie Olive / Tara Expeditions Foundation

2 mai 2018

Tout l’équipage était sur le pont pendant quinze jours pour cette escale riche en rencontres et évènements. Education, échanges avec des scientifiques, rencontres avec les partenaires : Tara était sur tous les fronts et a couvert tous les aspects de ses missions, avec en point d’orgue, une exposition à la Fondation Cartier. A Shanghai, la deuxième ville de Chine, où les tours sortent de terre à grande vitesse, les défis écologiques sont à l’ordre du jour.

Shanghai, une ville qui s’adapte aux mutations de la République de Chine

Ici, les jeunes adultes chinois ont à relever des défis aussi imposants que les tours de Pudong, le quartier d’affaires à Shanghai. Au sein de cette société méritocratique, les Chinois doivent être encore plus compétitifs qu’hier. Dans ce pays communiste, l’école et les soins sont payants, il n’y a pas de retraite, et c’est à chacun de se faire sa place. Mais les Chinois voient le verre à moitié plein et sont gonflés d’optimisme. « Quand on voit notre niveau de vie d’il y a 30 ans, on se dit que l’on est passé de la misère à tout est possible. On ne va pas se plaindre. Au contraire, c’est formidable ce qui nous arrive » dit Lunyu qui a étudié en France et qui est revenu en Chine pour être acteur et témoin de l’essor phénoménal de son pays. Ici la nostalgie est rare. Le pays bouge, se transforme et les médias scrutent le jour où la Chine deviendra la première puissance économique mondiale.

2.Romain_Troube_histoire_Tara@Noemie_Olive
Romain Troublé raconte les différentes missions à un auditoire très attentif. © Noémie Olive / Tara Expeditions Foundation

Le gouvernement veut relever le défi écologique

Depuis les pics de pollution de 2013, les Chinois sont sensibilisés aux questions environnementales. Expatriés et Chinois consultent quotidiennement des applis sur leur téléphone pour connaître le taux de microparticules et savoir s’ils peuvent se rendre au parc avec leurs enfants. Le gouvernement a déjà promis des séries de mesures pour réduire la pollution : plus de véhicules électriques (les scooters à essence sont déjà interdits dans les grandes villes), construire plus de tours écologiques, accompagner le Nord du pays dans sa transition pour passer de l’utilisation du charbon au gaz. La Chine veut continuer d’avancer tout en s’adaptant aux défis de notre époque, dont celui de prendre soin de notre planète.

Du continent à l’Océan avec Tara

Lors de cette escale à Shanghai, les Taranautes ont présenté aux jeunes chinois et français l’expédition Tara Pacific et ont rappelé, aux 1 400 élèves âgés de 5 ans à 16 ans qui ont visité le bateau, le rôle essentiel du corail pour la biodiversité. La plupart des classes avaient été bien préparées, grâce au travail de leur enseignant et au Journal Tara Junior. Nombreux connaissaient déjà le rôle d’agnès b., très reconnue en Asie, et l’histoire du bateau et les aspects néfastes du plastique dans les Océans.

Les après-midi, c’était au tour des chercheurs de divers instituts de visiter les installations scientifiques à bord. Et le soir, Tara accueillait les partenaires de longue date où petits fours maison et mets français étaient servis en guise de remerciements pour leur engagement aux côtés de la Fondation.

Dans le monde de l’art, Tara a aussi sa place. La Fondation Cartier a réservé un espace où sont projetés les films qui reviennent sur les trois grandes missions de la goélette, Tara Oceans, Tara Arctic et Tara Pacific. Au 5ème étage du PSA, (Power Station of Arts), une ancienne centrale électrique devenue le premier musée d’art contemporain en Chine, Tara est ainsi aux côtés des grands noms du monde de l’art contemporain comme Takeshi Kitano, Christian Boltanski, Raymond Depardon, Cai Guo-Qiang.

Noémie Olive

Articles associés