Tara at Malpelo Island: from corals to sharks

© Maggy Nugues / CRIOBE

28 July 2016

In a few days, the Tara team will live a special interlude in the long quest of coral. From August 2 to 9, the schooner will lend a helping hand to the Malpelo Foundation to study one of the Pacific giants: the whale shark.

After the first dives in Panama and a short stopover in Buenaventura, in Colombia, Tara will head due west towards Malpelo, a small island located 500 km off the Colombian coast. An “iceberg” of sheer and barren rock: 300 meters above sea level at its highest point, but under the surface, vertical drop-offs plunge down to 4,000 meters. Located at the junction of many ocean currents, Malpelo provides ideal conditions to accommodate extraordinary marine biodiversity. This Colombian island is known to divers from all around the world who come to admire one of the richest concentrations of large predators: hammer sharks, silky sharks and of course, whale sharks.

Requin BaleineWhale shark – Maggy Nugues / CRIOBE

Tara has provided support to the Malpelo Foundation with the aim of monitoring this latter species – the largest fish in the world, sometimes exceeding 15 meters long. In addition to the schooner serving as a study platform during this upcoming week, Tara will carry 9 PAT-Tags, small GPS units to be fixed on the bodies of Malpelo’s sharks. For several weeks the PAT-tags will regularly transmit the exact position of their hosts – valuable information on migration corridors of sharks for a research project conducted over many years by the Malpelo Foundation.

Though the Tara Expeditions Foundation will be at the service of the Colombian NGO for one week, we are still pursuing the goal of the Tara Pacific mission. Two divers will be studying Malpelo coral reefs, at the same time that marking of whale sharks will be carried out. In the heart of this marine sanctuary, as big as Corsica and listed in 2006 as a UNESCO World Nature Heritage Site, this will be an excellent occasion to investigate Malpelo coral from the other end of the marine food chain.

Yann Chavance

 

barre-orange-2

Articles associés :

Finding Dory: a new view of the ocean
Air, Land and Sea: Aerosols and the Ocean
Scientific sampling across the Atlantic

Tara à Malpelo : des coraux aux requins

© Maggy Nugues / CRIOBE

28 juillet 2016

Dans quelques jours, l’équipe de Tara s’apprête à vivre une parenthèse un peu spéciale dans sa longue quête du corail. Du 2 au 9 août, la goélette viendra prêter main forte à la Fondation Malpelo dans l’étude d’un des géants du Pacifique : le requin baleine.

Après les premières plongées au Panama et une courte escale à Buenaventura, en Colombie, Tara mettra le cap plein ouest vers Malpelo, une petite île située 500 km au large des côtes colombiennes. Un véritable « iceberg » de pierre : 300 mètres d’altitude à son point le plus haut mais, sous la surface, des falaises qui s’enfoncent à pic jusqu’à 4000 mètres de profondeur. Située à la croisée de nombreux courants océaniques, Malpelo offre des conditions idéales pour accueillir une biodiversité marine hors du commun. Aujourd’hui, l’île colombienne est connue des plongeurs du monde entier, venus admirer l’une des plus importantes concentrations de grands prédateurs : requins marteaux, requins soyeux, et bien sûr, requins baleines.

Requin BaleineRequin Baleine – Maggy Nugues / CRIOBE

C’est pour le suivi de ces derniers – les plus grands poissons au monde, dépassant parfois les quinze mètres – que Tara a apporté son soutien à la Fondation Malpelo. Outre l’utilisation de la goélette comme plate-forme d’étude durant cette semaine, Tara apportera sur son pont 9 PAT-Tags, de petits boitiers GPS qui seront fixés sur le corps des requins de Malpelo. En clin d’œil à notre partenaire Oceans by Disney, les requins seront prénommés Destinée, Harmonie, et Splash.

Durant plusieurs semaines, les PAT-Tags enverront régulièrement la position exacte de leurs hôtes : des informations précieuses dans le cadre des recherches sur les couloirs de migrations des requins, recherches entreprises depuis de nombreuses années par la fondation Malpelo.

Si la Fondation Tara et ses partenaires se mettent pendant une semaine au service de l’ONG colombienne, elle n’en oublie pas la raison d’être de cette mission Tara Pacific. Les spécialistes du corail seront aussi à bord pour étudier les récifs coralliens de Malpelo, en parallèle des marquages de requins baleines. Au cœur de ce sanctuaire marin, grand comme la Corse et déclaré Patrimoine Naturel de l’Humanité par l’UNESCO en 2006, Tara aura ainsi l’opportunité d’étudier les coraux de Malpelo depuis l’autre bout de la chaîne alimentaire marine.

Yann Chavance

Articles associés