[Tara in dry dock] 450 SIKAFLEX adhesive cartridges!

©

4 March 2019

Four months after her return from the Tara Pacific expedition, the schooner is getting ready for her next mission thanks to the valuable know-how of her sailors and some local businesses. Designed nearly 30 years ago by the architects Olivier Petit and Luc Bouvet, Tara is a unique vessel. Sheltered from bad weather in the west wing of the ship repair area in Keroman in Lorient, the schooner’s maintenance is in progress. Conducted every 3 years, the work includes major renovations and small improvements.

450 Sikaflex cartridges!

The mess room is an essential living space. It is where Tara’s team members work, welcome guests and officials, eat, chat and even dance! During the last transatlantic crossing, the crew noticed several leaks around the Plexiglas panels. The seals had aged, and required repair. First, the mess room was entirely emptied and the panels removed following a well-defined procedure. Then came the famous Sikaflex, an adhesive mastic to be warmed up in a water bath. For the 2 largest panels alone, almost 50 Sikaflex cartridges were used and a total of 450 necessary to complete the entire job.

IMG_2437Application of Sikaflex mastic to ensure the proper sealing of the Plexiglas panels © Lucas Blijdorp / Tara Expeditions Foundation 

As for the Plexiglas panels in the PC-Com area, the first plate of double glazing was cracked and needed replacement. Plexiglass plates are molded then pared down to fit  precise dimensions. Plates are made larger than their final shape. A jigsaw and careful attention are required because the slightest error can cause the Plexiglass panels to crack or melt. A slow cut is made under running water to keep the plates constantly cool. This demands rigorous attention with millimetric precision.

Mess room refurbishment

In the mess room, the headliners – linings inside the hull – damaged from leaks, have been replaced, and new cork flocking was installed to improve insulation. From the icy Arctic Ocean to the warm turquoise waters of the Pacific Ocean, the temperature inside the schooner requires regular adjustments. Ensuring thermal and sound insulation is absolutely crucial, so Tara’s crew can enjoy the warmth of the mess room in the Arctic Ocean and its coolness in warmer regions. By the end, the entire mess room will have been refurbished!

Tara_Chantier-3-Keroman-2019_FrançoisAurat-FondationTaraExpeditions.jpg.jpgTara at Keroman dry dock © François Aurat / Tara Expeditions Foundation 

Tara’s masts

Since Tara had to be dismasted, the sailors took the opportunity to perform some checks and repairs on the masts. First step: removing rust from stainless steel parts, such as the guy ropes attached to either side of the mast to stabilize it. A protective acid-based product is then applied before rinsing thoroughly. Strands – cords, twisted together, that make guy ropes – halyards and sails are also inspected. Finally, the mast heads are given a coat of orange paint, Tara’s signature!

Generators, windlass, rudder, etc.

One of Tara’s major ongoing repairs is the replacement of her two generators (GE1 and GE2), located at the front of the vessel. To carry out the necessary work, each generator has to be brought into the rear hold. Very heavy and too large to pass through doorways, the generators and motor are separated to allow their removal from the vessel. This operation is complex because there is no hook on the hold ceiling to fasten a hoist. As a result, the power generators have to be manually extracted and moved with the assistance of a plate.

At the same time the crew overhauls, repairs and replaces many parts of the schooner – the windlass (winch used to let out and pull up the anchor), forestay and backstay (cables that stabilize the masts), wheeling system and rudder.

On the rear deck, a new coat of white anti-skid paint will be applied and the electrical capstans (winches used to roll up or down ropes) are being renovated.

Getting ocean-ready

The maintenance is well under way, but there is still much to do before Tara can set sail again. Crew and volunteers are getting ready to step Tara’s mast by mid-March. The schooner will then leave on a European mission about Microplastics. Scheduled departure in June 2019.

Bon courage to everyone at the Keroman chantier!

 

Related articles

Tara en chantier

©

4 mars 2019

Presque quatre mois que la goélette Tara est à sec et n’écume plus l’Océan mais s’y prépare hâtivement avec le précieux savoir-faire de ses marins et des entreprises locales de la région de Lorient. Conçue il y a près de 30 ans par les architectes Olivier Petit et Luc Bouvet, Tara est un navire unique. Bien à l’abri des intempéries dans la “cathédrale” Ouest de l’aire de réparation navale de Keroman, son alcôve, le chantier se poursuit. Menés tous les 3 ans, les travaux comprennent des rénovations lourdes mais aussi de nombreux petits détails…

À l’intérieur de la goélette, le carré est un espace de vie primordial. C’est là où on travaille, accueille les invités ou les autorités, là où on mange, parle et danse même ! Pendant la dernière Transatlantique, l’équipage avait observé de nombreuses fuites à hauteur des panneaux de plexiglass. Les joints ont vieilli, des travaux s’imposent : vider entièrement le carré, démonter les panneaux en suivant une procédure bien définie. Ensuite, préparation du légendaire “Sika”, ce mastic-colle que l’on réchauffe au bain-marie. Pour les deux plus grands panneaux ce sont presque 50 cartouches de Sika qui seront nécessaires, 450 cartouches de ce multicomposant au total.

IMG_2437© Lucas Blijdorp / Fondation Tara Expéditions

Viennent les plexiglass du PC-Com. Pour ceux-là, on remarque que la première peau du double vitrage est fendue. De nouveaux panneaux sont indispensables, mais, pour que la plaque de plexi soit mise à la bonne forme, ils seront moulés puis découpés pour être ajustés. En effet, le plexi est livré plus grand que sa forme finale. Scie sauteuse et grande attention sont requises. À la moindre erreur, le plexi peut se fendre ou fondre, alors il faut effectuer une découpe lente et constamment refroidir le plexi avec un filet d’eau. Un travail rigoureux, précis, au millimètre près.

Remise à neuf du carré

À l’intérieur dans le carré, les vaigrages – qui tapissent l’intérieur de la coque – pourris par les fuites, ont été changés, et un nouveau flocage en liège a été posé pour renforcer l’isolation. Des eaux glaciales de l’océan Arctique aux eaux chaudes et turquoises de l’océan Pacifique, la température à bord de la goélette pose souvent question et demande des aménagements réguliers. Assurer l’isolation thermique et phonique est donc absolument crucial pour que les marins profitent de la chaleur du carré en Arctique, ou de sa fraîcheur dans les régions plus chaudes. Finalement, c’est donc le carré entier qui est remis à neuf !

Tara_Chantier-3-Keroman-2019_FrançoisAurat-FondationTaraExpeditions.jpg.jpgLe carré de Tara mis a nu – Chantier de Keroman février 2019 © François Aurat / Fondation Tara Expéditions

Les mâts de Tara

Puisque Tara a dû démâter, la dépose des mâts, au sec, dans un autre hangar permet aux marins de faire quelques vérifications et réparations. Première étape : chasser la rouille qui s’est installée dans les parties en inox, comme les haubans, fixés de part et d’autre du mât pour le stabiliser. On badigeonne un produit à base d’acide à rincer abondamment et protéger. On en profite aussi pour inspecter les torons – les cordons de câble qui forment les haubans – et on vérifie également les drisses, comme le textile des voiles. Bien sûr, un coup de peinture orange sur les têtes des mâts pour finir, en guise de signe de reconnaissance, c’est la signature Tara !

Générateurs, guindeau, safran…

Un des grands dossiers du chantier est le changement des deux groupes électrogènes (GE1 et GE2) situés à l’avant du bateau. Pour effectuer les réparations nécessaires, il faut amener chaque GE en cale arrière. Très lourds et ne passant pas les portes, génératrice et moteur sont séparés pour pouvoir les extraire du bateau. L’opération s’avère complexe : il n’y pas d’accroche au plafond de la cale pour fixer un palan. Les groupes seront donc sortis à la force des bras et à l’aide d’un plateau.

Par la même occasion, l’équipage révise, répare et/ou change de nombreux éléments de la goélette : guindeau (qui permet de remonter l’ancre), étai et marocain (câbles qui permettent de maintenir les mâts), système de barre, safran…

Sur le pont arrière, une nouvelle couche de peinture blanche antidérapante est posée et les cabestans électriques – permettant d’enrouler ou dérouler un bout – sont rénovés.

Remise à l’eau

Le chantier a déjà bien avancé mais il reste encore beaucoup à faire sur Tara avant la remise à l’eau. L’équipage et les bénévoles sont sur le pont et veillent à ce que la goélette soit fin prête pour la sortie de la “cathédrale” prévue pour la mi-mars pour son remâtage. Tara repartira ensuite pour une mission européenne sur les microplastiques : départ prévu en juin 2019.

Bon courage à tous sur le chantier de Keroman !

 

Articles associés