Tara en route for the Panama Canal

© Maéva Bardy / Fondation Tara Expéditions

9 July 2016

Three days since Tara left Miami. Onboard, life resumed the rhythm of navigation at sea. Each person is busy doing his daily work, but the whole crew gathers together for meals, to share household chores, and to do night-watch, monitoring navigation and maritime traffic.

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-TECHNIQUE-SAMUEL AUDRAIN-CABLAGE TIMONERIE-BD-1
Captain Samuel Audrain checks the wiring of the wheelhouse from the main cabin © Maéva Bardy / Tara Expeditions Foundation

 

We are 9 crew members aboard: 6 sailors, 2 scientists and a journalist. The crew is smaller than during the transatlantic crossing. Everyone is expected to participate in the night watch, taking turns to ensure the smooth running of the boat.

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-NAVIGATION-JULIE LHERAULT-BOME-BD-3
Julie Lherault on the boom helping take down the mainsail © Maéva Bardy / Tara Expeditions Foundation

 

The schooner passed the coast of western Cuba last night. To arrive on time at the mouth of the Panama Canal, we maintain a speed of 6.7 knots. Tara will pass through the Canal between July 14th and 15th , a mythical passage in the history of navigation. Once in Panama City the new scientific team will come aboard and on July 16, begin to collect coral samples in the Gulf of Panama.

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-SCIENCES-STEPHANE PESANT-AEROSOLS-BD-1
Stephane Pesant (scientist in charge of data management) prepares the tubes used for preserving aerosol filters © Maéva Bardy / Tara Expeditions Foundation

 

Related articles

Tara en route pour le canal de Panama

© Maéva Bardy / Fondation Tara Expéditions

9 juillet 2016

Voici trois jours que Tara a quitté Miami. A bord, la vie a repris son rythme de navigation en mer. Chacun de son côté est occupé à accomplir son travail quotidien, mais tout l’équipage se réunit autour de la vie du bord, c’est-à-dire, les repas, les tâches ménagères et les quarts en timonerie pour surveiller la navigation, le trafic maritime, la route…

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-TECHNIQUE-SAMUEL AUDRAIN-CABLAGE TIMONERIE-BD-1
Samuel Audrain (capitaine) vérifie le câblage de la timonerie depuis le carré © Maéva Bardy / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

A bord, nous voici neuf membres d’équipage : six marins, deux scientifiques et une correspondante de bord. Moins nombreux qu’au cours de la transatlantique, chacun est davantage sollicité pour effectuer les quarts, c’est-à-dire se relayer pour veiller à la bonne marche du bateau.

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-NAVIGATION-JULIE LHERAULT-BOME-BD-3
Julie Lhérault sur la bôme aide à l’affalage de Grand Voile © Maéva Bardy / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

La goélette vient de passer Cuba par l’ouest la nuit dernière. L´équipage maintient une vitesse de 6,7 nœuds, pour arriver en temps et en heure à l’embouchure du Canal de Panama. Tara passera le Canal entre le 14 et le 15 juillet, un passage mythique dans l’histoire de la navigation, avant d’embarquer à son bord à Panama city, la nouvelle équipe de scientifique qui réalisera les premiers prélèvements de corail dans le Golfe de Panama à partir du 16 juillet.

 

CREDITS MAEVA BARDY-SCIENCES-STEPHANE PESANT-AEROSOLS-BD-1
Stéphane Pesant (scientifique en charge de la gestion des données) prépare les tubes dans lesquels seront conservés les filtres aérosols © Maéva Bardy / Fondation Tara Expéditions

 

Articles associés