STRENGTHENING SCIENTIFIC COOPERATION FOR DEVELOPMENT

©

Our goal is to make the Ocean a responsibility of all nations. Let’s provide the means to accomplish this!

A major goal of the Tara Expeditions Foundation is to share as widely as possible the most recent knowledge about the Ocean.  In view of this objective, the Foundation initiated a new project in 2016 — to help researchers from developing countries get training in molecular biology, bioinformatics and genomics in Tara’s partner laboratories. Developing international scientific expertise is a condition essential for shared and efficient global governance of the Ocean for the next 50 years.

Share and continue Tara Oceans research work with developing countries

In the current state of international plankton research, the gigantic database collected during the Tara Oceans expedition, which is open access, can only be exploited by some 20 countries that have the capacity to translate this data into usable information.

The stakes are high. Unfamiliar and invisible, plankton is a crucial marker of planet Earth’s state of health. Studying how plankton functions will help us better understand the Ocean’s role in the climate system.

Today’s advances in technology make it possible to capture and analyze the diversity of planktonic microorganisms and conduct innovative research. The first results of Tara Oceans, based on international and interdisciplinary cooperation, go way beyond our expectations.

This research suggests a great potential for the future of ocean science that must be extended to developing countries.

Learn more about the Tara Oceans project and research

 

Tara, le 11/01/2010. Filtration du plancton. © David SAUVEUR
© David Sauveur / Tara Expeditions Foundation
 

Reinforcing research capabilities for a new generation of oceanographers

In 2016 the Foundation initiated the “Ocean Plankton, Climate and Development” project with the support of the French Facility for the Global Environment (FFEM). The project was born from the desire to continue the scientific adventure of the Tara Oceans expedition by giving it a new dimension: that of scientific cooperation for development.
The project is co-financed by the scientific institutions of the Tara Oceans program (6 million euros) and public funds of the FFEM (2 million euros).

janique portrait
Janique Etienne, coordinator of the FFEM project “Oceanic Plankton, Climate and Development”

Discover her interview

 

 

lars portrait

Lars Stemmann,  scientific coordinator of the Tara Oceans expedition working at the laboratory “Observatoire océanologique de Villefranche-sur-Mer”

Discover his interview

 

 

What is a cooperative project for scientific development?

This type of project creates new opportunities for developing countries. It aims to strengthen the research capacities and facilitate their appropriation of techniques and knowledge so they can participate in and benefit from scientific advances, at present and in the future. Developing scientific expertise in developing countries will enable them to better face the challenges of the future — climate change, food security, etc.

 

What are the objectives of this project?

The project in 6 key words:

COLLABORATION

This 4-year project aims to collaborate with 6 developing countries by training young researchers (from Latin America, Africa, Indian Ocean) in advanced European laboratories, partners of the Tara Oceans expedition (the CEA, EMBL, CNRS, ENS, etc.).

RECIPROCITY

This project aims to stimulate the reciprocity, exchange and openness that is often lacking in the field of science. Young researchers will receive training, but they will also use their past experience and specific expertise to enrich the Tara Oceans program.

EXPERTISE

Thanks to this project, they will be trained in state-of-the-art technologies in their fields (genetics, biology, bioinformatics,etc.) and will develop an expertise. Their research will help to better understand the global planktonic ecosystem, shedding light on interactions, evolution, and finding new species.

NETWORKS

In addition to carrying out their own research projects, we hope that the selected scientists will work closely with each other. The aim is to bring about new and long-term scientific collaboration among developing countries, and between developing and developed countries.

TOOLS

The scientific indicators and models obtained by the young researchers will have the ultimate goal of providing tools for decision-making by States — management of fish stocks, identification of marine areas to be protected, actions against climate change, etc.

ADVOCACY

This project will boost advocacy, that is, better promote the importance of the Ocean and its issues (plastic pollution, governance of the high seas, etc.) in international negotiations (UN, European Commission, etc.) but also within civil society, businesses and local communities.

 

tara_oceans
 © S. Bollet / Fondation Tara Expéditions
 

… and why is this relevant for the participating countries and the Foundation?

1. This project embodies the research philosophy of the Tara Expeditions Foundation, which believes in the benefits of sharing knowledge and transcending borders to manage and protect the ocean.

2. Participating in the progress of marine sciences in emerging countries is essential because they are so little developed, while the challenges facing marine and coastal regions are very important.

3. If we want to make the protection and sustainable exploitation of the Ocean a shared responsibility, each country must be able to participate and be capable of making the right political decisions. These decisions should be based on solid scientific expertise, resulting from reliable scientific data.

Portraits of researchers participating in the “Ocean Plankton, Climate and Development” project:

 

[ARGENTINA]

juan“If we want a viable ocean, we must first and foremost understand how it works”

Juan Pierella Karlusich, geneticist, Rosario. Discover his interview
Host laboratory: École Nationale Supérieure (ENS), Paris (France)

Subject: Acclimation of phytoplankton in function of environmental conditions

 

[BRAZIL]

janaina“I just received a gigantic dataset! Researchers working on Tara’s data are collaborating with each other.”

Janaina Rigonato, geneticist, São Paulo. Discover her interview

Host laboratory Commissariat for Atomic Energy and Alternative Energies (CEA), Paris (France)

Subject : Diversity of plankton: phytoplankton and zooplankton in ocean areas with low oxygen concentration.

[CHILE]

alejandro murillo“The Tara Oceans data are unique because they result from sampling on a global scale. Usually we only have access to parts of the Ocean. Just imagine the potential!”

Alejandro Murillo, microbiologist, Concepción. Discover his interview
Host laboratory: European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Heidelberg (Germany)

Subject : Study of interactions between planktonic organisms in regions of the Ocean with low oxygen concentration.

marko budinich

 

 Marko Budinich, bioinformatician, Santiago. Discover his interview

Host laboratory : Roscoff Biological Station (CNRS, UPMC), Roscoff (France)
Subject : Adaptation of genetic diversity of plankton in the world Ocean.

 

[TOGO]

dodji“This project is an opportunity to work with the best tools and laboratories to acquire expertise and bring added value to my country from an operational point of view in the fields of climate and fisheries.”

Dodji Yawouvi Soviadan, oceanographer/physicist, Lomé. Discover his interview

Host laboratory: Villefranche-sur-Mer Oceanography Laboratory (LOV), France

Subject : Modeling the distribution of zooplankton to predict their distribution in different oceans.

 

bandeau logo ffem tara oceans
 

Related articles

RENFORCER LA COOPERATION SCIENTIFIQUE POUR LE DEVELOPPEMENT

©

Faire de l’Océan une responsabilité commune mais s’en donner les moyens

Pour la Fondation Tara Expéditions, il est essentiel de partager le plus largement possible les nouvelles connaissances disponibles sur l’Océan. Renforcer les compétences des chercheurs des pays en voie de développement en leur permettant de se former en biologie moléculaire, bio-informatique et génomique dans les laboratoires partenaires est donc une nouvelle action menée par Tara depuis 2016. Développer l’expertise scientifique planétaire est une condition indispensable à une gouvernance mondiale partagée et efficiente de l’Océan pour les cinquante prochaines années.

Partager et continuer les travaux de recherche de Tara Oceans avec les pays en développement

En l’état actuel de la recherche internationale sur le plancton, la gigantesque base de données récoltées lors de l’expédition Tara Oceans, pourtant en libre accès, n’est exploitable que par une vingtaine de pays qui possèdent les capacités de traduire ces données en informations, puis en savoir.

L’enjeu est pourtant important. Méconnu et invisible, le plancton est un marqueur crucial de l’état de notre planète. Etudier son fonctionnement contribuera notamment à mieux comprendre le rôle de l’Océan dans la machinerie climatique.

Les avancées de la Science permettent aujourd’hui de capturer et d’analyser la diversité des micro-organismes planctoniques et donc de mener des recherches pionnières et innovantes. Les premiers résultats de Tara Oceans, issus d’une coopération internationale et interdisciplinaire, ont été au-delà des espérances.

Ces recherches laissent présager un fort potentiel pour le futur de la science océanographique qu’il faut élargir aux pays en développement.

Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur le projet et les recherches de Tara Oceans

 

Tara, le 11/01/2010. Filtration du plancton. © David SAUVEUR
© David Sauveur / Fondation Tara Expéditions
 

Renforcer les capacités de recherche pour une nouvelle génération d’océanographes

Depuis 2016, la Fondation a initié le projet « Plancton océanique, climat et développement », avec le soutien du Fonds Français pour l’Environnement Mondial (FFEM). Ce projet est né de la volonté de continuer l’aventure scientifique de l’expédition Tara Oceans en lui donnant une nouvelle dimension :  celle de la coopération scientifique pour le développement.

Le projet est cofinancé par les institutions scientifiques du programme Tara Oceans et les fonds publics du FFEM respectivement à hauteur de 6 et 2 millions d’euros.

janique portrait

 

Janique Etienne, Responsable du projet FFEM « Plancton Océanique, Climat et Développement »

Découvrez son interview

 

lars portrait
Lars Stemmann, chef de mission au laboratoire d’océanographie de Villefranche-sur-Mer

Découvrez son interview

 

 

Qu’est-ce qu’un projet de coopération pour le développement scientifique ?

Un tel projet créée de nouvelles opportunités pour les pays en développement. Il vise à renforcer les capacités de recherche et à faciliter l’appropriation de techniques et de connaissances pour qu’ils participent et tirent au mieux partie des avancées scientifiques d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Développer l’expertise scientifique des pays en développement leur permettra de mieux faire face aux défis de demain (changement climatique, sécurité alimentaire, etc.)

 

Quels sont les objectifs de ce projet ?

Le projet en six mots clés :

COLLABORATION

Ce projet de 4 ans a pour objectif de collaborer avec 6 pays en développement en formant de jeunes chercheurs (Amérique Latine, Afrique, Océan indien) dans des laboratoires de pointe européens partenaires de l’expédition Tara Oceans (CEA, EMBL, CNRS, ENS, etc.).

RECIPROCITE

Ce projet a pour objectif d’impulser de la réciprocité, de l’échange et de l’ouverture qui fait souvent défaut dans le domaine des sciences. Les jeunes chercheurs seront formés mais ils mettront également à profit leurs expériences et expertises passées et géographiques pour enrichir le programme Tara Oceans.

EXPERTISE

Grâce à ce projet ils seront formés aux technologies de pointe dans leur domaine (génétique, biologie, bio-informatique…) et développeront une expertise. Leurs recherches participeront à mieux comprendre l’écosystème planctonique mondial (nouvelles espèces, interactions, évolution, etc.).

RESEAUX

En plus de mener à bien leurs propres projets de recherche, il est attendu que les scientifiques sélectionnés collaborent étroitement entre eux. L’objectif est faire émerger une collaboration scientifique nouvelle et de long terme entre pays en développement et entre pays en développement et pays développés.

OUTILS

Les indicateurs et modèles scientifiques qu’ils obtiendront ont pour objectif final d’apporter des outils d’aide à la décision des Etats (gestion des stocks halieutiques, identification des zones marines à protéger, actions contre le changement climatique, etc.).

PLAIDOYER

Ce projet permettra de faire monter en puissance le plaidoyer c’est-à-dire mieux promouvoir l’importance de l’Océan et ses problématiques (pollution plastique, gouvernance de la Haute-mer, etc.) lors des négociations internationales (ONU, Commission Européenne, etc.) mais aussi au sein de la société civile, des entreprises et des collectivités locales.

 

tara_oceans
 © S. Bollet / Fondation Tara Expéditions
 

…et pourquoi est-il pertinent pour les pays participants et la Fondation ?

1) Ce projet incarne la philosophie de recherche de la Fondation Tara Expéditions qui croit aux bénéfices du partage des connaissances et du dépassement des frontières pour gérer et protéger l’Océan.

2) Participer à l’essor des sciences marines dans les pays en développement est primordial parce qu’elles y sont encore trop peu développées alors que les enjeux autour des espaces marins et côtiers y sont très importants.

3) Si on veut faire de la protection et de l’exploitation durable de l’océan une responsabilité commune, chaque pays doit pouvoir être acteur, capable de prendre les bonnes décisions politiques. Ces décisions doivent reposer sur des expertises scientifiques robustes, s’appuyant elles-mêmes sur l’exploitation de données scientifiques fiables.

 

[ARGENTINE]

 

juan« Si nous voulons un océan viable, nous devons avant tout comprendre comment il fonctionne. »

Juan Pierella Karlusich, généticien, Rosario. Découvrez son interview

Laboratoire d’accueil : École Nationale Supérieure (ENS), Paris (France)

Sujet : Acclimatation du phytoplancton, organismes planctoniques réalisant la photosynthèse, en fonction des conditions environnementales qu’il rencontre.

 

[BRESIL]

janaina« Je viens de recevoir un énorme tableau de données ! Les chercheurs qui travaillent sur les données de Tara collaborent beaucoup entre eux »

Janaina Rigonato, généticienne, São Paulo. Découvrez son interview

Laboratoire d’accueil : Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives (CEA), Paris (France)

Sujet : Diversité du plancton, du plancton végétal au plancton animal, dans les zones océaniques à faible concentration en oxygène.

[CHILI]

alejandro murillo« Les données Tara Oceans sont inédites car elles résident dans l’échelle globale de l’échantillonnage, d’habitude, on a accès qu’à certaines parties de l’océan : essayez juste d’imaginer le potentiel ! 

Alejandro Murillo, microbiologiste, Concepción. Découvrez son interview

Laboratoire d’accueil : Laboratoire de biologie moléculaire européen (EMBL), Heidelberg (Allemagne)

Sujet : Etude des interactions entre organismes planctoniques au cœur des zones océaniques à faible concentration en oxygène.

 

marko budinich

 Marko Budinich, bioinformaticien, Santiago. Découvrez son interview

Laboratoire d’accueil : Station biologique de Roscoff (CNRS, UPMC), Roscoff (France)

Sujet : Adaptation de la diversité génétique du plancton dans l’océan mondial.

 

[TOGO]

dodji« Ce projet est une opportunité de travailler avec les meilleurs outils et laboratoires pour acquérir une expertise et apporter une valeur ajoutée à mon pays du point de vue opérationnel dans le domaine du climat et de la pêche »

 Dodji Yawouvi Soviadan, physicien océanographe, Lomé. Découvrez son interview

Laboratoire d’accueil : Laboratoire d’océanographie de Villefranche-sur-Mer (LOV), France

Sujet : Modélisation de la distribution du plancton animal (zooplancton) afin de prévoir leur répartition dans les différents océans.

 

 

bandeau logo ffem tara oceans

Articles associés