The Agency for French Education Abroad (AEFE)

© AEFE

The Agency for French Education Abroad (AEFE) is a government institution supervised by the Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs. This ministry coordinates the network of French educational establishments abroad, commonly called “French high schools”. In the school year 2020, the network consists of 535 approved schools, listed in a joint annual decree by the Ministry of National Education,Youth and Sports, and the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs. This unique global school network, present in 139 countries, is an asset and a lever for France’s influence.

The AEFE has also been entrusted by the Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs with the implementation of the LabelFranceEducation, the objective of which is to identify, recognize and promote high-level bilingual French-speaking sections in establishments abroad. To date, 392 establishments worldwide have been awarded the seal of quality, LabelFrancEducation.

For the past 10 years, the Tara Ocean Foundation has developed a partnership with the AEFE. Hundreds of AEFE teachers have been working with the Foundation’s educational tools for Science and Sustainable Development which they learned to use during live online workshops.

More information here.

Agence pour l’enseignement français à l’étranger (AEFE)

© AEFE

L’agence pour l’enseignement français à l’étranger (AEFE) est l’opérateur public qui, sous la tutelle du ministre de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères, coordonne le réseau des établissements d’enseignement français à l’étranger, communément appelés « lycées français ». À la rentrée 2020, ce réseau est constitué de de 535 établissements scolaires homologués dont la liste est fixée par un arrêté annuel conjoint du ministre de l’Éducation nationale, de la Jeunesse et des Sports et du ministre de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères. Ce réseau scolaire unique au monde, présent dans 139 pays, représente un atout et un levier pour l’influence de la France.

L’AEFE s’est également vu confier par le ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères la mise en œuvre du LabelFrancEducation dont l’objectif est d’identifier, reconnaître et promouvoir les sections bilingues francophones de haut niveau dans les établissements étrangers d’excellence. À l’heure actuelle, 392 établissements ont été labellisés LabelFrancEducation dans le monde.

Depuis plus de 10 ans, la Fondation Tara Océan a naturellement développé une complicité partenariale avec l’AEFE. Des centaines d’enseignants de l’AEFE travaillent depuis plusieurs années avec les outils pédagogiques d’éducation à la Science et au Développement Durable de la Fondation qu’ils ont pu découvrir lors d’ateliers en ligne en direct.
Plus d’informations ici.