Compagnie Nationale du Rhône

© CNR

CNR is France’s leading producer of 100% renewable electricity (water, wind, sun) and the multipurpose concessionary of the Rhone River from the Swiss border to the Mediterranean Sea: its missions are to produce hydroelectricity, deploy navigation and port sites, and supply water for irrigation and other agricultural uses. CNR is a mostly public owned joint stock company in the general interest. With its missions in the general interest in particular, it is engaged in a CSR approach set out in corporate values that guide its mode of development and its daily actions.

What reasons underlie the Compagnie Nationale du Rhône’s wish to associate itself with the Tara Ocean Foundation through this three-year partnership?

We develop a river, the Rhone, and we are responsible for managing all the uses made of it. Although river pollution does enter within the framework of our missions, we cannot ignore the waste that flows into the Mediterranean Sea and which comes from this river, waste generated by the surrounding population, industrial companies, etc. We have therefore decided to assist the Tara Ocean Foundation because the subject of microplastic pollution has now become a global issue of great importance.

The scientists engaged on behalf of Tara can also use the data already in our possession. The aim is to share them for the general interest.

However, our partnership also comprises a section on learning and awareness, both at the heart of the missions of TARA Océan: informing the general public, as well as municipalities and enterprises, is essential in order to make fast and fundamental changes in everyone’s behaviour.

Compagnie Nationale du Rhône

© Compagnie Nationale du Rhône

CNR est le 1er producteur français d’électricité d’origine 100 % renouvelable (eau, vent, soleil) et le concessionnaire à vocation multiple du Rhône de la frontière suisse à la mer Méditerranée : production d’hydroélectricité, déploiement de la navigation et de zones portuaires, irrigation et autres usages agricoles. La CNR est une société anonyme d’intérêt général, majoritairement publique : elle est engagée, au travers notamment de ses missions d’intérêt général, dans une démarche RSE déclinée en valeurs d’entreprise, qui guide son mode de développement et son action au quotidien.

Pour quelles raisons la Compagnie Nationale du Rhône a souhaité s’associer à la Fondation Tara Océan à travers ce partenariat de trois ans ?

Nous aménageons un fleuve, le Rhône et nous sommes responsables de la gestion de tous ses usages. Bien que la pollution du fleuve n’entre pas directement dans nos missions, nous ne pouvons pas être étrangers aux déchets qui se déversent dans la mer Méditerranée et qui proviennent de ce fleuve que ce soient des déchets générés par des riverains, des industriels, etc. Nous avons donc décidé d’accompagner la Fondation Tara Océan parce que le sujet de la pollution microplastiques est particulièrement important aujourd’hui, à l’échelle mondiale.

Les scientifiques engagés auprès de Tara pourront aussi utiliser des données que nous avons déjà. Il s’agit donc d’une mise en commun dans un intérêt général.

Notre partenariat comporte également un volet pédagogique et de sensibilisation, qui est au cœur des missions de la Fondation Tara Océan : informer le grand public, mais aussi les collectivités, les entreprises, est fondamental pour un changement rapide et en profondeur des comportements de chacun.